Boost Controllers and You... - Page 3 - Subaru WRX Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #31 of 37 Old 03-27-2006, 03:12 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
9d2TSi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,171
Images: 5
9d2TSi is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to 9d2TSi Send a message via MSN to 9d2TSi
It sounds like you're only getting wastegate boost pressure, meaning that you might need to put the pill back into the line, you have a faulty bcs, or a leak. It sounds like your wastegate is controlling boost instead of the bcs.

Also, adding a mbc isn't a good idea.

My car is well, it's like 10 lbs of shit in a 5 lb bag...

<------ Click to see what I'm workin' with. ;)

Last edited by 9d2TSi; 03-29-2006 at 02:57 AM.
9d2TSi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 37 Old 03-28-2006, 11:24 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 7
soundline is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmo
No. The "learning" is based on how you drive, and it only works if the ECU is still in control of everything. It may adjust the fuel and timing slightly over the course of a few months, but not nearly to the extent everyone says it does. And, not nearly enough to compensate for the extra boost. Especially at lower rpm and load points.

I have a question about this. I intend on purchasing an 03 WRX and since this is the case, how could I reset the ECU so that when I start driving it, the ECU will tailor to me and not stay with the settings of the previous owner?

Thanks
soundline is offline  
post #33 of 37 Old 04-17-2006, 01:58 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
trktwrx is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to trktwrx
is this the same for 06 model? im wondering cause i know that in a DSM you can safely go to 17 and all i want is to go to 15 right now. also on a side note a guy i know threw a electronic boost controller on his 02 wrx and he never had a problem. well thanks and i hope someone can help me on my decision.
trktwrx is offline  
post #34 of 37 Old 04-17-2006, 12:11 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
9d2TSi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,171
Images: 5
9d2TSi is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to 9d2TSi Send a message via MSN to 9d2TSi
Quote:
Originally Posted by trktwrx
is this the same for 06 model? im wondering cause i know that in a DSM you can safely go to 17 and all i want is to go to 15 right now. also on a side note a guy i know threw a electronic boost controller on his 02 wrx and he never had a problem. well thanks and i hope someone can help me on my decision.
DSM's and Subarus are two totally different animals when it comes to ECU's, simply invest in some engine management if you want to safely increase boost levels over stock. For the money that you'll spend for a good EBC, you can pick up the AccessPORT and handle your business that way.

My car is well, it's like 10 lbs of shit in a 5 lb bag...

<------ Click to see what I'm workin' with. ;)
9d2TSi is offline  
post #35 of 37 Old 04-19-2006, 09:57 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
T WREX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Maine
Posts: 425
Images: 5
T WREX is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to T WREX Send a message via Yahoo to T WREX
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundline
I have a question about this. I intend on purchasing an 03 WRX and since this is the case, how could I reset the ECU so that when I start driving it, the ECU will tailor to me and not stay with the settings of the previous owner?

Thanks
If you want to reset the ECU, unplug the negative battery terminal and step on the brake pedal for 5 seconds. However, the ECU constantly learns. It didn't learn the previous owner and then stop learning. It will (probably has) learn around your driving as much as possible even without a reset.

FP Green'd 04 STi

Trevor
T WREX is offline  
post #36 of 37 Old 06-19-2006, 11:01 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 104
Images: 2
Mad Mordigan is an unknown
if you put a boost controller on that messes with the air ratio, then y dont you put in a better fuel pump.
Mad Mordigan is offline  
post #37 of 37 Old 06-19-2006, 11:14 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 128
theaxemaster is an unknown
Well you CAN, but the car's computer is controlling the fuel input, independant of what the fuel pump is supplying (unless something is wrong, of course). If fuel pumps oversupply what the car tells the injectors to put in, the rest just gets dumped back into the tank.
theaxemaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome