EGT, Boost, and tachometer - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 Old 04-10-2008, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

xmoniewrx is an unknown
EGT, Boost, and tachometer

I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE YOU DO TO YOUR CAR FROM YOUR INSTALL; THIS IS AN AID FOR YOU TO PUT THESE GAUGES IN AT YOUR OWN RISK. IF YOU FEEL YOU CAN NOT TACKLE THIS LEAVE IT TO SOMEONE MORE EXPERIENCED. I HAVE BEEN WORKING ON CARS FOR MORE THAN 10 YEARS, BUT I WILL TELL YOU ANYONE CAN DO THIS INSTALL EVEN A BEGINNER DO YOUR RESEARCH AND FEEL COMFORTABLE WITH THE INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE ATTEMPTING.

Installing these gauges does take some time so you might want to spread it out over a couple of days it is nice to take your time so the install goes smooth or do one gauge at a time.

EGT

First we will start out with the EGT gauge install. You will need the following items:

3/16” Drill Bit
1/4” Drill Bit
5/16” Drill Bit
For hard metals

Eye protection

1/8 NPT Tap

Tap Torque Handle

Drill or (Drill Press makes Life easier but I don’t have one)

Cutting Oil for Hard Metals

Car Jack

Socket Set (12mm and 14 mm)

Plastic Tie Wraps

Brake Cleaner

PB Blaster (Better than WD40) Auto Store…

3 feet of 18 gauge electrical wire can be bought at Home Depot, Menards, Hardware store, etc…

EGT Gauge of course (I bought an Auto Meter Cobalt Digital and pretty happy with it)

Wire Nuts or connection Block Depot, Menards, Hardware store, etc…

Wire Splices Auto Store……..

If not mentioned all the other tools can be bought at Sears …ETC…

First off jack your car up high enough to get under the front of the car. Start off by taking off your plastic shield that protects the undercarriage of your motor. Once you get it off, you will you want to take the driver’s side piece of your exhaust manifold. First you will need to take off the heat shield that is wrapped around the manifold piece.