Subaru WRX Forum banner

WRX Limitations

5K views 20 replies 9 participants last post by  exmotoman 
#1 ·
I am new to Subaru's and purchased an 06 WRX wagon for a commuter vehicle. I would like to add a little more fun to the commute and clean up an annoying flat spot from 3K to 3600. Thing feels like it pulls timing out like crazy in this RPM range. I have looked into TBE, up-pipe and a good tune. I have read lots on Cobb AP versus ECU tek, Vishnu looks interesting. Any advice based on what you have done to your cars? I prefer to keep the exhaust on the softer side for sound. Anything more than these mods and it seems like you hit several limitations quickly. Upgrading the turbo and the pistons, TMIC & connecting rods become the weak link. Too much boost on the stock TD04 and you start super heating the air and losing power with boost levels past 15psi. I would like to get the car to run a low 13 which would be decent. I live in Idaho and about 3500 above sea level which makes things a little tougher. I have removed the resonator in the fender well and put a K&N filter, about 10 min after the first drive in the car. Looking for a nice balacne...

#2 ·
Well if you look around at the other 06-07s here, they have gone with EM first. That will fix your little spot you have in the RPM range. I use a Cobb AP and love it, just stage one right now. If you want to keep the car quiet you can get just a DP (down pipe) and flash stage 2. Also for better handling get rid of the stock tires at the least, maybe pick up a little bit wider rim also.

#3 ·
My personal opinion:
- Cobb AccessPORT V2
- Cobb Catted Downpipe
- Stock Cat Back