Subaru WRX Forum banner

What To Upgrade Next?

5K views 23 replies 10 participants last post by  Hondafan 
#1 ·
Hello there. I have a 07 WRX TR that is completely stock apart from CAI and Catback Exhaust. What would my next step be in upgrading performance? I'm a newbie so I need opinions.

#3 ·
Pull the elbow off that CAI going into your fender and shove the filter onto the pipe instead. ;)

But seriously, get a ram air intake. It's not your intake's job to cool your air, it's your intercooler's. Make your intake unrestrictive to the turbo, and let your intercooler cool the hot air from your turbo.

#5 ·
Thanks for the advice. After all of those things are taken care of, some people tell me to upgrade to a bigger turbo. Is this the way to go? And if it is, what turbo would be best? I want to make around 350 BHP. Nothing to ridiculous but I would like to be faster than a stock STI

#7 ·
Paul is very right in plainly stating you cant just put parts on the car and expect it to go. You need to research the parts, what works together and what doesnt, also understanding how it works helps alot also. If you have questions about it, read and search, and then come asking about clarifications or for other members personal experience(s). Many on here are very knowledgeable and have nicely modified cars.

#9 ·
350bhp you can do with used STi parts. You'll need the intercooler and the turbo (vf39 or vf43). You'll probably want to purchase a fuel pump new, no point in getting a used one. You'll also need injectors, easiest way is to trade yours for some modded stockers. Add to that all the exhaust stuff (downpipe, cat-back) and a tune. You can even use the cobb AP as a tune for that setup if you buy the EXACT right injectors and ditch your intake.

#10 ·