stock sti - Subaru WRX Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 45 Old 09-28-2007, 05:50 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
0fourSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Images: 2
0fourSTI is an unknown
stock sti

hey guys i have an of 04 sti that is bone stock come to find out the car has a vf 22 in it. and im wondering am i loosing any power with that care being it is bone stock or what i can do for mods with that turbo what i rather have on my stock car the vf 22 of the vf 39
0fourSTI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 45 Old 09-28-2007, 06:13 PM
Moderator
 
newtothegame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,493
Images: 4
newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via Yahoo to newtothegame
If you have a bigger turbo, you should at least have a DP and some type of EM or reflash to your ECU. If not your probably not getting much out of the turbo.
newtothegame is offline  
post #3 of 45 Old 09-28-2007, 06:13 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
pearl_boxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 258
pearl_boxer is more helpful than not
Well its not really a stock car anymore if you have a VF22 in it. I'm trying to decipher what you are asking...

The previous owner probably had the car protuned or tuned with some sort of Engine Management in order to run the VF22 properly. I'm assuming the tuned map is still loaded on the ECU? Even if it isnt, I'd look into getting a custom tune, to support that turbo and get the full potential from what it has to offer. You could even look into putting a bigger intercooler in, along with a new turbo inlet pipe. That's my suggestion.

I think this is the answer you were looking for, but I'm not 100% on that.

Shaun
Protuned STI Limited #262
pearl_boxer is offline  
post #4 of 45 Old 09-28-2007, 06:23 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
0fourSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Images: 2
0fourSTI is an unknown
hey guys thanx no the car isnt stock anymore lol i thought it was until i realized it had a vf22 in it o yeah also a k&n drop in the dealer told me that it had the stock map in it and i justed reflashed now with a setup for k&n dropp in. does anyone have a tune that would work for my car the way it is
0fourSTI is offline  
post #5 of 45 Old 09-28-2007, 07:00 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Longshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,119
Images: 5
Longshot is a helpful contributing member
Send a message via AIM to Longshot
Get it dynoed and protuned if you got the funds.

Mike
DTRacing Tuned
Longshot is offline  
post #6 of 45 Old 09-28-2007, 07:04 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
0fourSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Images: 2
0fourSTI is an unknown
yeah i dont have the funds i spend it all on the car
0fourSTI is offline  
post #7 of 45 Old 09-29-2007, 01:11 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
0fourSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Images: 2
0fourSTI is an unknown
hey guys can i run stage 2 with my car being stock except vf22 turbo and a k&n drop in filter
0fourSTI is offline  
post #8 of 45 Old 09-29-2007, 01:29 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
0fourSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Images: 2
0fourSTI is an unknown
if there is a monetor around can u delete a picture off my profile of my liscense plate i cant delete it myself thanx
0fourSTI is offline  
post #9 of 45 Old 09-29-2007, 05:24 PM
Moderator
 
newtothegame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,493
Images: 4
newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via Yahoo to newtothegame
Stage 2 with anyones map is usually just for a TBE and panel or SRI. Im not sure how that would affect the performance of your car though.
newtothegame is offline  
post #10 of 45 Old 09-29-2007, 05:37 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
0fourSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Images: 2
0fourSTI is an unknown
im not sure on what i should do i dont want to ruin anything running that turbo with a stock flash and havent been able to find one that i should run being the car is stock except that k&n and the vf22 which i had no idea the car had when i bought it
0fourSTI is offline  
post #11 of 45 Old 09-30-2007, 05:48 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,245
WRXKidid775 is more helpful than not
i wouldnt rail on the car at all.

i wouldnt drop the coin on a protune until you have the supporting mods.

Robby
02 rex is gone.
I defected to an evo :)
Evo is gone :(
Now I got nothing.
WRXKidid775 is offline  
post #12 of 45 Old 09-30-2007, 05:58 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
0fourSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Images: 2
0fourSTI is an unknown
i put a stage 2 flash into the car and she seems to love it. prior to knowing there was a vf22 on there i was complaing about lag and the car stalling. i put the stage 2 in and it seemed to get rid of the lag stalling issue.
0fourSTI is offline  
post #13 of 45 Old 10-01-2007, 03:46 PM
Moderator
 
mosc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6,501
Images: 7
mosc is a helpful contributing member
Garage
how do you KNOW you have a VF22 in there anyway? If your car has a stock fuel system, stock exhaust, and stock tune, it's not going to run very well with the VF22.

What you really need to do is find a dyno tuner and spend the money to have whatever crap is on there properly tuned up before you BREAK your car ffs.

04 STi 16G powered lagless fun
04 WRX: SOLD
mosc is offline  
post #14 of 45 Old 10-01-2007, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
0fourSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Images: 2
0fourSTI is an unknown
first off ffs what the hell is that i dont talk computer language and i know it has a vf 22 ### i can read the numbers on it and im assuming t had other shit done to it before it was traded it. all i do know is i flashed to stage 2 and the car runs 10 times better than before
0fourSTI is offline  
post #15 of 45 Old 10-01-2007, 05:24 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
wrxman420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 452
Images: 3
wrxman420 is more helpful than not
Your car may feel like its running good, but your ecu map is not made for the turbo you have on there. Listen to everyone else, spend a little money and get a tune, trust me you will be happier with the car.
wrxman420 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome