stock intake to free flowing? - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 09-15-2006, 12:07 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
kh15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,229
Images: 2
kh15 is an unknown
stock intake to free flowing?

I've added a k&n drop in style filter and a perrin intake charge pipe to my stock 06 intake system. i was just wondering if doing these mod would make it TO easy for the air to flow through, causing messed up air/fuel ratios like you would see if i installed a short ram intake?
kh15 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-15-2006, 06:25 PM
WRXpert
 
dumdum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,800
Images: 12
dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention
Quote:
Originally Posted by kh15
I've added a k&n drop in style filter and a perrin intake charge pipe to my stock 06 intake system. i was just wondering if doing these mod would make it TO easy for the air to flow through, causing messed up air/fuel ratios like you would see if i installed a short ram intake?
Nope.Less restriciton is not what cause the problem.Its caused by either the MAF housing being bigger than stock,MAF mount not properly orientated,or an overly oiled filter contaminating the MAF sensor.Since you are still using the stock air box you should be fine.FYI becarefull not to overoil the filter and only oil from the "air-in" when you go to clean the K&N filter.I usually let new/just cleaned for an hour or two before installing in the vehicles.Gives the oil a change to soak in and become tacky.Brand new filters are sealed in a air tight bag immediatly after being oiled so its a good idea to let them sit out of the bag before installing.

Homebrewed tuned with Opensource!
dumdum is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-16-2006, 02:23 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
kh15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,229
Images: 2
kh15 is an unknown
should i re-set the ecu?
kh15 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-16-2006, 05:25 PM
Ian
Moderator
 
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,722
Images: 9
Ian is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to Ian
Quote:
Originally Posted by kh15
should i re-set the ecu?
It's always a good idea to rest the ECU after every mod you do, I even do it after every oil change
Ian is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On