Subaru WRX Forum banner

Quiet Exhaust

29K views 23 replies 9 participants last post by  arcticscythe 
#1 ·
I have a 2007 WRX, stock. I have read as much as I can about quiet exhausts. Most people recommend the Borla Hush or the Maddad Whisper V2. Do any of you run either of these exhausts? Do you have any information or advice about which I should choose? What downpipe to go with? Places to get the best pricing or kit pricing for a full TBE that uses either of these CBEs?

I am a total noob and I am basically very uncomfortable making this decision. I will be attempting to do the work myself (because I think it will be fun/interesting). Any advice is greatly appreciated.

#2 ·
I have a Borla Hush, big fan. For a downpipe, I'd go with a catted bellmouth. It'll also keep the noise down as well as the stick which sounds like something you may be interested in too. Much more sleeper and doesn't really slow the car down any with a stock-like turbo. The Maddad is also very nice btw.

The difference between the two sound wise is that the hush is a deeper sound and a good bit louder at WOT. Both of them are fairly quiet at low RPMs but the hush is louder than most people think at higher RPMs. Personally, I think the hush is a good mix of quiet and loud mattering on your RPM disposition. I also prefer the deeper rumble. The Maddad is a better choice if overall noise level is your concern. Some people prefer the more "rounded" sound as well which is particularly excellent on the Maddad.

Personally, I limited myself to twin tip exhausts right away. Much less attention grabbing. Even without the noise, the 3"-4.5" tip on some of them get more attention than I would like.

#3 ·