prodrive bcs install - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 04-14-2008, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
kh15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,229
Images: 2
kh15 is an unknown
prodrive bcs install

when it comes time to install this i use all new vacume line correct? no more pill, or T's? 3 new lines....
bcs to intake
bcs to wastegate
bcs to compressor

dont worry i will be installing this while my car is sitting on the dyno waiting to tune for the new prodrive unit!
kh15 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-14-2008, 10:25 PM
WRXpert
 
nagyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,181
Images: 4
nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to
no t's or pills will be uses when you install it. I'm not familiar with the prodrive BCS, I have the IR one that is the same as the Perrin, and it illiminates the BCS to intake.

Dom Tuned 2003 WRX Wagon
251.3 WHP
235.8 WTQ

If it's worth doing, it's worth overdoing
nagyhead is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-14-2008, 11:26 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
kh15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,229
Images: 2
kh15 is an unknown

prodrive is the same just its plug and play. just wanted to make sure that i no longer need any pills or anything
kh15 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-15-2008, 08:54 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Longshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,119
Images: 5
Longshot is a helpful contributing member
Send a message via AIM to Longshot
Quote:
Originally Posted by kh15 View Post

prodrive is the same just its plug and play. just wanted to make sure that i no longer need any pills or anything
Nope you'll run two vac lines (get new ones) no pills. One to wastegate actuator nipple and one to the turbo compressor nipple, zip tie them both.
The third you can just vent to the atmosphere and just plug your line that runs to your turbo inlet hose with something, I used an eraser off a pencil, perfect fit.

Mike
DTRacing Tuned
Longshot is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-15-2008, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
kh15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,229
Images: 2
kh15 is an unknown
why not just run a line to the turbo inlet?
kh15 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-15-2008, 04:30 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Longshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,119
Images: 5
Longshot is a helpful contributing member
Send a message via AIM to Longshot
you can absolutely, either will work fine

Mike
DTRacing Tuned
Longshot is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-15-2008, 04:35 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
kh15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,229
Images: 2
kh15 is an unknown
cool thanks! i had heard that you can have that 3rd vent to the atmosphere but i never read any pros and cons of doing it.
the bsc shipped today so im hopping to get it on and tuned in the next 2 weeks. damn td04! lol
kh15 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-16-2008, 01:18 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
baller_v24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,469
baller_v24 is known to be trustworthy and helpful baller_v24 is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via Yahoo to baller_v24
Open Source ECU ROMS

see if this helps when u do get it

1.) click on "xpt maps discussion"
2.) click on "HOW TO: DIY GM BCS Install
3.) click on http://www.tarmacwolf.org/dokuwiki/doku ... t_solenoid <<<<<-----------dont click on that one i meant the one after step 2^^^^^
4.) scroll down till get to the prodrive install portion

rollin on 17's now and they're dirty
baller_v24 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-16-2008, 07:14 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Longshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,119
Images: 5
Longshot is a helpful contributing member
Send a message via AIM to Longshot
Quote:
Originally Posted by kh15 View Post
cool thanks! i had heard that you can have that 3rd vent to the atmosphere but i never read any pros and cons of doing it.
the bsc shipped today so im hopping to get it on and tuned in the next 2 weeks. damn td04! lol
If you felt at all hesitant about doing the install I'd be happy to help if you want to take a trip across the state.

Mike
DTRacing Tuned
Longshot is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-16-2008, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
kh15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,229
Images: 2
kh15 is an unknown
thanks! i had planned on doing it once my car was up on the dyno. im going to put the bcs in place and then plug it in and run the lines once i get to my tuner. im pretty sure you have to imediatly tune once installed or you will just overboost
kh15 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-16-2008, 11:01 PM
WRXpert
 
nagyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,181
Images: 4
nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to
you can install it now and you wont over boost,your ecu is still controlling it. I would just have it done before you get there.

Dom Tuned 2003 WRX Wagon
251.3 WHP
235.8 WTQ

If it's worth doing, it's worth overdoing
nagyhead is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On