Subaru WRX Forum

Subaru WRX Forum (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/)
-   Bolt-on Tech (EJ255/EJ257 2.5L '04-07 STi and '06-07 WRX) (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f75/)
-   -   Need a little advice 06 WRX (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f75/need-little-advice-06-wrx-30276/)

littlec5103 02-16-2011 08:45 PM

Need a little advice 06 WRX

I bought my 06 WRX a few months ago, so I'm a bit of a newb. My problem is poor gas mileage, I'm getting around 10-15 mpg tops. I haven't done much to the car, it came with a couple mods:
perrin short ram intake (not sure if it's really perrin - just a short hose with the MAF and a filter on the end - maybe 16-20 inches in total length)
perrin main pulley
STI Intercooler
All of these mods came with the car except the intercooler, and I've been getting this mileage since the day I bought it. I've put in brand new plugs (NGK iridiums - best ones I could find at the ZONE) and a new air filter. This got me a couple more MPG's. From what I've read I know messing with the intake under 350-400HP is not ideal and can make it run a little rough. If this is the case then should I just buy a stock air box setup? Is there a tried and tested intake that doesn't give you the poor results I could get? Please let me know what you guys think because I'm scratchin my head over here on this one. I don't want to start modding it until I figure this out because something is definitely isn't right.

Hondafan 02-16-2011 09:21 PM