Subaru WRX Forum banner

Looking for tips - NEWB NEEDS HELP

2K views 11 replies 4 participants last post by  newtothegame 
#1 ·
Ok, I am very new to the Subi world and I have been reading on here for weeks now. I must say everything I read seems to get contradicted in another thread somewhere. I have an 06 WRX, and the only thing I've gotten myself is a boost gauge (which I'm hopefully installing tomorrow). The car currnetly has a Perrin short ram intake, perrin crank pulley, and eibach springs.

What I want to know right now:
#1 - I am planning on starting with an STI TMIC, and I know I won't see much of a gain until I tune (which will come later). My question is what will I NEED to make this happen??
I will need the intercooler, and Y pipe kit (I've heard the ebay ones work well).
Will I NEED to get the STI hood scoop and a splitter? Can I get a splitter without the scoop? Do I need either of these extras, will they really improve performance or is it just braggin rights? I get the gist, forcing more air onto the intercooler will improve the performance, but it seems like it will cost an extra 300 or so just to get the scoop and splitter. Will I be fine without one??

Following this I plan on a TBE and a tuner (probably a COBB), so my questions about those will come shortly as I get there.

#2 - Also, I would like to have the sound of a BOV, and I have read countless threads on these as well. Is there a BOV (preferably an adjustable one) that will give me a great sound without sacrificing the integrity of the engine (by making it rich every shift)? I am looking to get an adjustable one so I'm not dumping it all, just enough to make it heard.

I appreciate any help with this, and I know these have been beaten to death, but like I said I have really been doing my HW and can't seem to come to my own conclusions. I would like to hear from the people who have actually done these things. Thanks again guys for your input!

See less See more
#2 ·