catless uppie - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 06-25-2007, 01:49 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
0fourSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Images: 2
0fourSTI is an unknown
catless uppie

does anyone know if the 04 sti has a catless uppie or not? also i wanna do a downpipe and all that good stuff what can i reuse from the stock exhaust because ive heard people say that there is no real power gains from exhaust its mostly just sound so what can i do with my stock exhaust? just get a down pipe and uppie?
0fourSTI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 06-25-2007, 03:22 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
ArmyWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 581
ArmyWRX is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to ArmyWRX Send a message via Yahoo to ArmyWRX
really there are people that say a cbe wont give you any power.... i saw power gains on a dyno from a cbe and cai.... i dont have the dyno sheet here to prove it its with my car.... i would recommend any one to go get a tbe....
ArmyWRX is offline  
#3 Old 06-25-2007, 03:39 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
0fourSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Images: 2
0fourSTI is an unknown
well i guess my question is can i due a turbo back exhaust and still use my stock sti muffler and still see the horse power gains
0fourSTI is offline  
#4 Old 06-25-2007, 04:00 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
doctorjf21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 92
Images: 8
doctorjf21 is an unknown
Yes you have a cat in the uppipe and yes you can get a DP and use the stock CBE. You might need a flange though with a bigger DP. You will see a noticeable difference in HP with a catless dp only but i would also recommend a catless uppipe for safety purposes and a little quicker spool.
doctorjf21 is offline  
#5 Old 06-25-2007, 04:58 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
wrx3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 296
wrx3r is more helpful than not
with the amount of boost you can run with a sti using its stock vf39 you will want a catless up pipe as well as down pipe. a cat back will net small hp gains but if your on a small budget you can use the stock sti catback.

bigger and better than ever
wrx3r is offline  
#6 Old 06-25-2007, 08:32 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
isd_intrepid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montana
Posts: 134
isd_intrepid is an unknown
Send a message via Yahoo to isd_intrepid
Will installing a catless uppipe cause the CEL to go off?
isd_intrepid is offline  
#7 Old 06-25-2007, 08:47 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
wrx3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 296
wrx3r is more helpful than not
Quote:
Originally Posted by isd_intrepid View Post
Will installing a catless uppipe cause the CEL to go off?
i never had a cel come on when i installed mine, but maybe my tuner cleared it before it could come on.

bigger and better than ever
wrx3r is offline  
#8 Old 06-26-2007, 07:54 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
0fourSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Images: 2
0fourSTI is an unknown
does anyone think its bad if i just remove the resonator from my air intake with out replacing it with an elbow from fastwrx.com or sumthing like that. it will suck air from the fenderwell instead of the ram air.
0fourSTI is offline  
#9 Old 06-26-2007, 08:54 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
WRXtreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,654
WRXtreme is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to WRXtreme
Stock STi uppipes are catless from the factory. The real power in the exhaust comes from either completely removing both cats or replacing them with a single high-flow cat. You will be able to hook your STi catback with most aftermarket downpipes, to make sure just check with the manufacturer. I personally would not remove the resonator from the airbox without replacing it with an elbow, but thats just me.
WRXtreme is offline  
#10 Old 06-26-2007, 03:34 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
0fourSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Images: 2
0fourSTI is an unknown
i have a question on hooking up my air fuel gauge. im assuming i hook it up to the front o2 sensor which is the air fuel. but in the directions it says it hooks up to the signal wire? does anyone no what color the signal wire is on the front o2 sensor or is there a better way to hook up that air fuel meter
0fourSTI is offline  
#11 Old 06-26-2007, 05:51 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 22
phillyman is an unknown
i thought the best place was on the DP about 9 inches from turbo, i could be wrong though
phillyman is offline  
#12 Old 06-26-2007, 06:40 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
WRXtreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,654
WRXtreme is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to WRXtreme
I've read over and over to stay away from the front o2 sensor. Although it is a semi-wide band o2 sensor and if you try to tap into it the ecu might not get proper readings from the o2 sensor and the car will not run right. The rear o2 sensor is a narrow band o2 sensor and is pretty much just for emissions. If you want an gauge that is going to work properly get a wide-band o2 sensor and hook the guage up to that.
WRXtreme is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On