About to pull the trigger on my first Subaru - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 05-13-2012, 10:26 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

AWDfreek is an unknown
About to pull the trigger on my first Subaru

Hello newbie here,

Just needed to know your guys expert advise. Please any advise would help. The ad expired so i cant show you the link but Its a

2006 wrx
64k miles
30k in mods (he says it will beat out a stage 2 STi)
i dont know to much about subaru mods

THE BAD: (what the seller said)
Engine problem is cylinder 2 and 4 are showing poor compression. Leakdown indicated that one or both likely have damaged ringlands and the head gasket will likely need to be replaced. The heads should be in good condition as the valve guides were replaced and valves were adjusted only a little over a year ago. Leakdown didn't seem to suggest any issues with the heads, nor did it indicate that the passenger side bank had any issues, but its tough to know for sure what is going on inside the motor before disassembling it.

Should i just rebuild the engine? how much would a shop charge me for this? Should i just pass? Biggest question of all: If i decide on the rebuild...WHAT IS MY RESALE VALUE? HOWMUCH WOULD YOU PAY(IF YOU HAD THE MONEY).

THAKS FOR YOUR TIME GUYS AND SORRY FOR BORING YA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 05-13-2012, 10:39 PM
WRXtuners Member

sleepr is known to be trustworthy and helpful sleepr is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Garage
take your finger off the trigger...there's no need to ruin your life...satisfaction and hope can be found in other opportunities.

Matt
70 to 100 faster than you can say "whoooossshh!"
post #3 of 21 Old 05-13-2012, 10:45 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

AWDfreek is an unknown
not even if i can get it for 9k?
post #4 of 21 Old 05-13-2012, 10:49 PM
WRXtuners Member

spc2125 is an unknown