Subaru WRX Forum banner

About to pull the trigger on my first Subaru

5K views 20 replies 12 participants last post by  Jautry27 
#1 ·
Hello newbie here,

Just needed to know your guys expert advise. Please any advise would help. The ad expired so i cant show you the link but Its a

2006 wrx
64k miles
30k in mods (he says it will beat out a stage 2 STi)
i dont know to much about subaru mods

THE BAD: (what the seller said)
Engine problem is cylinder 2 and 4 are showing poor compression. Leakdown indicated that one or both likely have damaged ringlands and the head gasket will likely need to be replaced. The heads should be in good condition as the valve guides were replaced and valves were adjusted only a little over a year ago. Leakdown didn't seem to suggest any issues with the heads, nor did it indicate that the passenger side bank had any issues, but its tough to know for sure what is going on inside the motor before disassembling it.

Should i just rebuild the engine? how much would a shop charge me for this? Should i just pass? Biggest question of all: If i decide on the rebuild...WHAT IS MY RESALE VALUE? HOWMUCH WOULD YOU PAY(IF YOU HAD THE MONEY).

THAKS FOR YOUR TIME GUYS AND SORRY FOR BORING YA

See less See more
#4 ·
Im in the same boat as you in terms of about to buy a subie. Ive posted mutiple....MULTIPLE cars and asked what they thought about them and the consensus is that you should NOT buy a modded car!
Think about it. How do you know how well it was all put together? And if you buy it and it craps the next day.... its NOT covered under the LEMON LAW because it wasnt installed by a professional therefore your buying at your own risk.