Stage 2, passing inspection. - Subaru WRX Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Ruso
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 10-29-2016, 02:26 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Brad Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 22
Brad Evans is an unknown
Stage 2, passing inspection.

Will I pass inspection with catless downpipe, no check engine light but used to throw codes before tuner was on.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
Brad Evans is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 10-29-2016, 02:38 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Ruso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Washington
Posts: 290
Ruso is more helpful than not
Garage
Depends on inspection. Over here in Washington, they simply plug into the OBDII port and scan for engine codes (making sure that all sensors had time to collect data).

There is no smog test or anybody looking under the hood looking for modifications or anything.

If that's the case where you are then you should be good if you don't trigger codes but it depends on how they do it over where you are.
Ruso is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 10-29-2016, 02:49 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Brad Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 22
Brad Evans is an unknown
They do it the same over here, plugged in obd2 here and plugged in gas cap.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
Brad Evans is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 Old 10-30-2016, 01:37 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
arcticscythe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: California
Posts: 1,540
arcticscythe is known to be trustworthy and helpful arcticscythe is known to be trustworthy and helpful arcticscythe is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Garage
If you live in a CARB state a catless downpipe will fail the sniffer test. Most inspection stations do not have the technology to check your ECU tune but they do check for outward symptoms of an excessivly polluting car. If everything looks buttoned up and your tune is not throwing check engine codes you should be ok unless you are in a CARB state.

- Jason
Slow is Smooth > Smooth is Fast
arcticscythe is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 10-30-2016, 10:03 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Brad Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 22
Brad Evans is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruso View Post
Depends on inspection. Over here in Washington, they simply plug into the OBDII port and scan for engine codes (making sure that all sensors had time to collect data).

There is no smog test or anybody looking under the hood looking for modifications or anything.

If that's the case where you are then you should be good if you don't trigger codes but it depends on how they do it over where you are.
Throwing only code p0442 small evap leak

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
Brad Evans is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 10-31-2016, 09:12 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Jay R K is an unknown
Well for me, I failed at the local inspection station. I have a Invidia Catless downpipe and a v3 accessport. Cleared all the codes before inspection but still ended up failing. Here in NJ they just run the OBDII scanner but i still ended up failing.
Jay R K is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 10-31-2016, 09:18 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Brad Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 22
Brad Evans is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay R K View Post
Well for me, I failed at the local inspection station. I have a Invidia Catless downpipe and a v3 accessport. Cleared all the codes before inspection but still ended up failing. Here in NJ they just run the OBDII scanner but i still ended up failing.
You can't clear codes before you go there because none of the readiness monitors will be set

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
Brad Evans is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 10-31-2016, 11:19 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Ruso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Washington
Posts: 290
Ruso is more helpful than not
Garage
Just thought of something, you can't simply clear codes but you can disable them.

You have an AP which will let you do that, no clue how to do it on AP but that could be a temp fix if you just need to pass. You still have to drive around to get enough data since at least on Tactrix changing the map resets ecu.
Ruso is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 11-01-2016, 05:47 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
RogueMantis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kansas
Posts: 97
RogueMantis is an unknown
Garage
I believe you have to use AccessTuner to permanently clear the codes and re-flash whatever tune you are running.

06 WRX - Cobb Stage 2
RogueMantis is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 11-01-2016, 07:42 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
GSMNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 723
GSMNZ is known to be trustworthy and helpful GSMNZ is known to be trustworthy and helpful GSMNZ is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Garage
I created a tune to force readiness monitors instantly. If you have AccessRace Tuner then you can do the same. If you don't see if you can locate someone with a 02 Version of the program.

05 WRX Wagon - 409 AWHP / 334 WTQ Wicked Matt Tuned
GSMNZ is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 11-01-2016, 07:44 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
GSMNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 723
GSMNZ is known to be trustworthy and helpful GSMNZ is known to be trustworthy and helpful GSMNZ is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Garage
Mind you this is not a permanent tune I use. Its just one I flash before getting an inspection an then a flash back to my stage 666 tune.

05 WRX Wagon - 409 AWHP / 334 WTQ Wicked Matt Tuned
GSMNZ is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 11-01-2016, 08:12 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Brad Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 22
Brad Evans is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSMNZ View Post
I created a tune to force readiness monitors instantly. If you have AccessRace Tuner then you can do the same. If you don't see if you can locate someone with a 02 Version of the program.
I have a v3 ap

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
Brad Evans is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 11-01-2016, 08:47 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
GSMNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 723
GSMNZ is known to be trustworthy and helpful GSMNZ is known to be trustworthy and helpful GSMNZ is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Garage
Every year has a specific program. I didn't mean the V2 app I mean the AccessRace Tuner Program for the Model year 02. Like my version is for 05 its not capatible with your AP even tho both of ours are V3.

05 WRX Wagon - 409 AWHP / 334 WTQ Wicked Matt Tuned
GSMNZ is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 11-01-2016, 02:22 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Ruso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Washington
Posts: 290
Ruso is more helpful than not
Garage
Lol @ stage 666!
Brad Evans likes this.
Ruso is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 01-04-2017, 09:17 PM
ink
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 15
ink is an unknown
if you live in a place that does a visual inspection your DP could fail for missing a cat but even in states that are supposed to check that they dont always do it
ink is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome