prosport boost gauge wiring - Subaru WRX Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 03-21-2007, 12:27 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
eggeegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nevada
Posts: 48
Images: 5
eggeegg is an unknown
prosport boost gauge wiring

i just wanted some suggestions on how to wire my prosport boost (green/white) gauge. i've looked at a couple how-to's but was wondering how different people wired their prosport gauges. basically, i only want my gauge to be only be on when the engine is on, not just when the key is on ACC. i want the gauge to be "white" during day and "green" during night. this is what i found a nasioc and this seems to be the setup for me.

From the radio harness:
Red - Green w/Orange stripe
White - Blue w/Red stripe
Green - Goes to white wire on sender
Black - Ground
Orange - Violet

With this setup, will the gauge only come on when the engine is on? Is there anywhere else i could get to the wires without removing the radio? For example, can i have a similar setup tapping off the clock harness?
eggeegg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 03-21-2007, 04:32 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 288
Images: 3
03'WRXDriva is an unknown
Send a message via MSN to 03'WRXDriva Send a message via Yahoo to 03'WRXDriva
i used the power off the clock wires they have all u will need their. no need to pull anything out of the dash. i also used the factory boost gauge hose too.

break out the multimeter test the wires and wire um up man.
03'WRXDriva is offline  
#3 Old 03-21-2007, 04:35 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
wrx3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 296
wrx3r is more helpful than not
my guage is on as soon as i turn the key one click... the needle reads vaccum 30 psi cause the engine is not on....so i guess basically it just lights up until the engine turns on

bigger and better than ever
wrx3r is offline  
#4 Old 03-21-2007, 06:07 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
eggeegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nevada
Posts: 48
Images: 5
eggeegg is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by 03'WRXDriva View Post
i used the power off the clock wires they have all u will need their. no need to pull anything out of the dash. i also used the factory boost gauge hose too.

break out the multimeter test the wires and wire um up man.
sounds good. i did more research and this seems to be the setup i want but through the clock:

White + Red = ACC (black/yellow)
Orange = ILL (white/red)
Black = GND (black)

i guess i can go check if the clock comes on only when the engine is on.
eggeegg is offline  
#5 Old 03-21-2007, 09:56 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,245
WRXKidid775 is more helpful than not
the clock is on when you click the key to acsessory or whatever it is.

Robby
02 rex is gone.
I defected to an evo :)
Evo is gone :(
Now I got nothing.
WRXKidid775 is offline  
#6 Old 03-21-2007, 10:22 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
kh15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,229
Images: 2
kh15 is an unknown
what if i have multipull gauges can i tap off the same main wire ie if i use 12v power from the clock can i tap that SAME wire 3 times to run all my gauges or will that pull to much power?
kh15 is offline  
#7 Old 03-21-2007, 10:44 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,245
WRXKidid775 is more helpful than not
id say that might pull too much power. the cigarette lighter is a good place to get power from becasue you can tap all 3 there and not pull too much since its meant for charging things that pull a lot more current than 3 guages.

Robby
02 rex is gone.
I defected to an evo :)
Evo is gone :(
Now I got nothing.
WRXKidid775 is offline  
#8 Old 03-22-2007, 06:36 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 288
Images: 3
03'WRXDriva is an unknown
Send a message via MSN to 03'WRXDriva Send a message via Yahoo to 03'WRXDriva
i have all elecrtonic gauges and yeah i used all three gauges to the clock power. the wires from these gauges is like 28 guage. so im guessing it pulls next ot nothing for power. the clock gauge is more than enuf to run them ok. i have had it done for a month or so with no issues.
03'WRXDriva is offline  
#9 Old 03-22-2007, 01:29 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
eggeegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nevada
Posts: 48
Images: 5
eggeegg is an unknown
installed the gauges. needle a tiny bit below 0 when key is on ACC, engine off. the first time i tested it with the engine on, i saw it was at -20 (that's how i read it not knowing it was actually 20 vacuum). i undid all my wiring to double check connections. everything was good and so i did some research online and saw this was normal. made me so mad. but i like the gauge. mine is quite accurate when comparing to Enginuity data logging on my laptop.
eggeegg is offline  
#10 Old 03-22-2007, 02:15 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
lateralis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Washington
Posts: 10
lateralis is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to lateralis
Hey I was looking into getting a set of defi gauges with the clock pod, but my wrx didnt come with the factory boost gauge. So im wondering where are you guys running the lines for the gauges? And if it makes any difference I'll be getting a Boost gauge (duh), Oil temp, and a Voltmeter since I have a pretty decent power draw from my stereo, and no actual indication of voltage.
lateralis is offline  
#11 Old 03-23-2007, 01:34 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
eggeegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nevada
Posts: 48
Images: 5
eggeegg is an unknown
i ran the lines to the clock harness and tapped power from there. to me, it was easier to uninstall the clock than the radio. my gauge sensor is right outside the firewall and the wires go from there through the grommet (behind the intercooler) into the car.
eggeegg is offline  
#12 Old 03-23-2007, 05:28 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
eggeegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nevada
Posts: 48
Images: 5
eggeegg is an unknown
my gauge can switch between white and green while the engine is on only if i started the engine with the headlights in the off position. if i start the engine with the headlights in the on position, i can't turn the gauge white by turning the headlights off. it's just always green. is this normal?
eggeegg is offline  
#13 Old 03-23-2007, 07:49 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 288
Images: 3
03'WRXDriva is an unknown
Send a message via MSN to 03'WRXDriva Send a message via Yahoo to 03'WRXDriva
yeah because of the tinted face they are always lit. if i got sunglasses on its hard to see the gauges in the day time. thats the only downfall of the tinted face.

and how do u make them white?

i opted for the blue lighted ones and the are either really bright with lights off and dim at night, which i can see them perfect anyhow.
03'WRXDriva is offline  
#14 Old 03-23-2007, 07:52 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
lateralis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Washington
Posts: 10
lateralis is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to lateralis
Quote:
Originally Posted by eggeegg View Post
my gauge can switch between white and green while the engine is on only if i started the engine with the headlights in the off position. if i start the engine with the headlights in the on position, i can't turn the gauge white by turning the headlights off. it's just always green. is this normal?
Pics?
lateralis is offline  
#15 Old 03-24-2007, 12:22 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
eggeegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nevada
Posts: 48
Images: 5
eggeegg is an unknown
pics of the gauge? it's basically what i described. first here's my connection tapping into the clock:

White + Red = ACC
Orange = ILL
Black = GND

Scenario 1: engine is off. headlights are on OFF position. start the car. the gauge displays white. turn the headlights ON while the engine is on. gauge displays green. turn headlights off and they turn white again. this is how it's supposed to work. However...

Scenario 2: engine is off. headlights are on ON position. start the car. the gauge displays green. turn the headlights OFF while the engine is on. gauge remains green. turn headlights on, still green.
eggeegg is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On