Paint it yourself? - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 Old 10-25-2009, 01:49 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

Boober909 is an unknown
Paint it yourself?

hey
I have had a black abs grill on my car for a while, and i was looking at buying an sti scoop for it as well and painting them blue to match the car. have alot of you guys painted stuff this big and had success/ color matched well? i would probably end up doing my side skirts as well if you guys think it wouldn't be too huge of a job. like i have air spray guns and everything but i've never done automotive paint before.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 Old 10-25-2009, 02:34 AM
WRXtuners Member

midniteblack is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to midniteblack
Well, painting is not easy and usually takes a lot of trial and error to become a skilled painter. It's worth a try though if you feel confident enough because you have to start somewhere. A huge thing is the prep. Make sure you have everything sanded smooth and prepped for the paint. There are many other variables that will depict your final results(spray gun pressure, ambient temperature, angle of paint flow, even the quality of the gun, etc). Do some searching on google and absorb as much knowledge as you can. It's not rocket science but there are some basic things you should know before doing it. I've painted a 2 trunks and an sti wing with base/clear, my wheels and the hood/roof/hatch on my other car with single stage and i'm still learning. You gotta start somewhere. Good luck!
post #3 of 37 Old 10-25-2009, 03:00 AM
WRXtuners Member

sleepr is known to be trustworthy and helpful sleepr is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Garage
the way our WRBlue color is painted, it is difficult for even the pros to match perfectly in my opinion. (Someone correct me if I am wrong) I believe it's two shades of blue; a darker undercoat and a lighter coat laid on top of that...and then clear.

Matt