Gauge battles - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 06-14-2009, 09:11 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
silvr_wag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 60
Images: 4
silvr_wag is an unknown
Angry Gauge battles

I just got in from ALMOST completing my Prosport boost gauge install. I had it lit up and operational when I had it all loose. Then when I tightened everything down and hid the wires, I was going to go for a drive and check out my new gauge...nothin'. No illumunation, no needle movement. Nothin'.

I checked the wires and everything seemed in place. Checked the clock fuse(ACC tap in). Good. The radio was still going(where i tapped in for 12V Ign.). So mad....

Going to try for like the fouth time next weekend! Trying to have my friend in it with me for that one(ex-Circuit City installer). You could say I'm electronically challenged. No questions, just venting I guess....
silvr_wag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-14-2009, 09:50 PM
Moderator
 
newtothegame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,493
Images: 4
newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via Yahoo to newtothegame
That really sucks to hear. Shot prosport an email, see if they can maybe shed some lite into the problem also. Im not much of an electrician myself. But I hope you can get it figured out. Post up some pics afterwards if you can when they are up and running.

Joshua
"2007 WRX- PPG'd, 20G- Tim Bailey tuned
Stage 2 2005 WRX
Cobbtuning.com"
newtothegame is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-15-2009, 12:46 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
jed344's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 147
Images: 3
jed344 is an unknown
i know what thats like cept for audio... sometimes they will just start working again but i feel ## pain
jed344 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 06-15-2009, 04:55 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2
Images: 1
DARTGTS is an unknown
Don't know if it matters to you but I actually tapped into my cigar lighter and cigar light for the illumination. I just gently removed the spade connectors from the factory connector and attached the wires to them and plugged everything back in. Worked great and was very easy to run the wires just followed the factory harness down to it. Don't know if this will help with your problem. I will say this though I did have a problem with the Prosport gauge connector not seating all the way.. Gave me fits untill I figured it out.
DARTGTS is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-20-2009, 01:37 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
silvr_wag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 60
Images: 4
silvr_wag is an unknown
DART, do you mean the connector right off the back of the gauge? I'll check that.
silvr_wag is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-20-2009, 07:49 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2
Images: 1
DARTGTS is an unknown
Yes that is the one.. The molex connector wires on mine were loose so I ended up just making sure that they were in tight and things seem to be working fine now.. The board connection is also sometimes suspect. I had to return my original gauge because the pcb connection was faulty, if I pushed the connector in and held it the gauge would work as soon as I let it go it would stop. They returned it with no questions after I explained the problem.. Good luch hope it is something that simple..
DARTGTS is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On