Dnx6990hd on wrx 2013? - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 03-25-2013, 02:43 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8
WRXNJ13 is an unknown
Dnx6990hd on wrx 2013?

Anyone have Kenwood DNX6990HD installed in their WRX?
I like that head unit. I hate head units without nobs and this one has one.

is installation easy? what will I need?
WRXNJ13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-25-2013, 02:58 PM
Premium Member
 
the RIOT act's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,136
the RIOT act is more helpful than not
Garage
Dnx6990hd on wrx 2013?

I've taken the front dash panel off around the radio to hide my radar detector wire and there's tons of room on both sides with only like x4 screws holding the HU in. Should be no problem at all for even a novice person. Nice HU btw!!


Sent from AutoGuide.com App

Brandon - 13' SWP WRX Sedan
the RIOT act is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-25-2013, 03:55 PM
Moderator
 
mosc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6,501
Images: 7
mosc is a helpful contributing member
Garage
mosc is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 03-25-2013, 04:11 PM
Premium Member
 
the RIOT act's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,136
the RIOT act is more helpful than not
Garage
Dnx6990hd on wrx 2013?

Pioneer's UI is certainly nice, and comes in cheaper than the Kenwood as well. I'm an NX-702 fan myself. I've had Pioneer and Eclipse before my first Clarion. Don't think I could ever buy anything else again. The Clarion NX-602 is very similar to what you're looking at OP and at only $500 on Amazon as well. Choices choices...lol!

Clarion NX602 In-Dash Vehicle DVD Player:Amazon:Car Electronics Clarion NX602 In-Dash Vehicle DVD Player:Amazon:Car Electronics



Sent from AutoGuide.com App

Brandon - 13' SWP WRX Sedan
the RIOT act is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-25-2013, 04:12 PM
Premium Member
 
the RIOT act's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,136
the RIOT act is more helpful than not
Garage
Dnx6990hd on wrx 2013?

I don't think we're helping mosc !


Sent from AutoGuide.com App

Brandon - 13' SWP WRX Sedan
the RIOT act is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-25-2013, 04:55 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
General-Leo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 87
General-Leo is more helpful than not
I have damn near the same head unit in my WRX, the only thing that I can tell is different about mine from the one you asked about is that mine does not have the slot for the media card in it (I can't remember what model number my kenwood is). Other than that I love my HU it fits great there is not a real big gap or anything to worry about. Allthough I can not help you with what you need to install in because I took mine to a audio shop here for two reasons, one I didn't want to mess up the install of the HU, and two I wanted to have a backup camera added with it and had no idea how to run it myself. haha
I can say that if you become intersted in the camera later on mine works really nice with that HU!
General-Leo is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-25-2013, 05:58 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8
WRXNJ13 is an unknown
I would go with pioneer but the only thing is I will have the buy traffic adapter. Yes! I do need it! I use garmin right now and it helps a lot even if I know the way I turn it on to see which way has less traffic.

I also want to go with kenwood because they use garmin and I'm very happy with the garmin navi that I have.

I just want to know what adapters will I need to install it? and which camera do you guys recommend.
WRXNJ13 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-26-2013, 11:37 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
dirtydeeds02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 65
dirtydeeds02 is an unknown
Re: Dnx6990hd on wrx 2013?

Everyone has a personal preference so buy what u like. Kenwood and Pioneer are both great brands. The install is super easy if u buy from crutchfield all installation items are included. You need a mounting bracket and wiring harness.
Excerpt from previous post of mine..
either use a small flat head screw driver or your fingernail and pull off the dash trim starting at the bottom and working up. There are 4 screws that hold the stock unit in. Once those r removed unclip the harnesses and wire the harness adapter to the new unit. Attach new head unit to the new dash kit and put it back together. It gets a little more complicated if u want to keep the steering wheel controls and Bluetooth. I bought everything from crutchfield.com best products and best prices.[/QUOTE]
dirtydeeds02 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-26-2013, 11:56 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
NeverSummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 342
NeverSummer is more helpful than not
Is keeping the steering wheel buttons and Bluetooth plug n play?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
NeverSummer is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-26-2013, 12:02 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
dirtydeeds02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 65
dirtydeeds02 is an unknown
Steering wheel controls were a dilemma. Aswc was the company that makes the adapter and I had some issues with the install (Bluetooth controls still don't work) . Bluetooth is basically plug and play just have to find a good spot for the external unit.
dirtydeeds02 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 03-31-2013, 06:32 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8
WRXNJ13 is an unknown
I installed everything yesterday. including the aswc. I updated it before install. everything works except the bluetooth buttons. they seek up and down instead of pickup and hang up. I tried it while on the phone.
WRXNJ13 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 03-31-2013, 08:34 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
dirtydeeds02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 65
dirtydeeds02 is an unknown
Same here called aswc and did a troubleshoot to no avail. Tried manual program and reseting the unit nothing worked for me. I hope u figure it out bc I gave up.
dirtydeeds02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome