Subaru WRX Forum banner

08 WRX HID Conversion

18K views 45 replies 18 participants last post by  paulderek 
#1 ·
Sup lighting gurus,

Okay, after going through all the forums looking for help or suggestions regarding HID upgrades for the 2008 WRX 5-Door Wagon, here are a few questions i have.

1. Has anyone done a STI complete conversion into an 08 WRX (Head Unit / Ballast / Bulbs)? Will it work?

2. Are the stock Halogen projector compatible for a straight aftermarket HID conversion without all the glare?

3. Since I've never done a retro fit before, what options do I have for an optimal, OEM look, but with a clean HID light source (no excessive glare)?

4. Looking to spend about $300 to $350, but if it's all OEM products, I may pay more.

Please help. Thanks in advance.

RE

#3 ·
I realize I can get a conversion kit for under 250, but Im afraid that there will be too much glare coming out from the cut off line and I rather not try to do a retro fit because I have no experience in creating one. The other thing is, I like the Sti look and wanted to know if anyone has done something like that. Any help or pics would greatly be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Richie

#7 ·
Awesome, looking forward to seeingthe outcome. So far I haven't been able to find any information about a complete STI housing swap. I'm sure it's possible, but need to get my hands on one first to test it. Also rewiring the harness shouldn't be bad either.

#10 ·
I have installed a 50 watt HID kit in my '08.