Wierd... chirping sound @WOT(04 WRX). - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 06-07-2009, 12:26 AM
WRXtuners Member

nik97 is an unknown
Wierd... chirping sound @WOT(04 WRX).

Ok, first let me say that I'm a noob to Subaru. I've been a mechanic for about 4 years so I do know my way around an engine well. Also, I have not had a lot of time to even mess with this car since I bought it Monday.

Anyway... in 1st gear at half to full throttle I hear an odd, high pitched noise that is constant. Then, with the same throttle application in 2nd, the sound becomes "pulsed" very consistently; like a chirp. Same sound in third and probably 4th and 5th but by then there is too much road noise to hear it. It's very hard to describe the sound. It's not like a belt but more of maybe an air passage or leak, perhaps. Anyway, it's very noticeable and it happens every time.

It's not really bothersome but it just sounds... like something is malfunctioning. Also the car does seem a bit sluggish but I'm not exactly sure how it should feel. As I said, subie noob.
Is this normal? Could it be the normal sound of the boost control system?

By the way, the car is stock. It makes max ~11lbs of boost(unsure of specified rating). I checked the inlet tube, discharge pipes and all clamps, connections from the filter to the throttle body and everything is in good shape.

Nick. '90 Taurus SHO. Forged, Turbocharged, intercooled, meth, ~430whp. 12.93 @ 116 - FWD FTL.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-07-2009, 11:36 AM
WRXtuners Member

jdowrx is an unknown
Sounds like an exhaust leak to me. My car did the same high pitched noise and it ended up being the gasket between the turbo and downpipe. I believe the stock boost should be around 13.5lbs, 11 seems low.
#3 Old 06-07-2009, 01:47 PM
WRXtuners Member

03 CrazyTaxi is known to be trustworthy and helpful 03 CrazyTaxi is known to be trustworthy and helpful