VDC problem - Subaru WRX Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Jdubbya10
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 04-14-2017, 01:21 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
 
VDC problem

Hi, first off love the site. Have been stalking as a guest since i got my 2016 wrx limited in January. So straight to the topic. VDC will not turn off. The usual once press for trac. mode or hold for disable yields nothing. The lights all come on when the car is started i just cant get the button to do anything. Even tried disabling hill assist through it and that doesn't work either. I know for a fact it was working as recently as wednesday (nothing crazy i just drive with it in trac. mode during most daily commuting) Most threads i can find just go through when where and how to disable it but im not finding much on this specific problem. Dealer even scratched their heads when i gave them a phone call. No CEL or any kind of notification lights and the fuse looks good. Tire pressure is optimal and haven't messed with wheels or suspension. Only modification on the car is the axle back the previous owner put on it. Thank you for any and all help.
Jdubbya10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-14-2017, 08:38 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Ruso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Washington
Posts: 354
 
Garage
Try to follow this procedure and see if it will bring up a VDC error code:

06-09: How To Read Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs) - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

But otherwise I'm also scratching my head. The above procedure will display all types of error codes, including ones you cannot scan for unless you have a Subaru scan box (SSM) at the dealership. AP/Tactrix/OBD 2 scanners cannot access that area of the computer.
Ruso is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-15-2017, 08:16 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 260
   
You're under warranty, this would be a free diag and fix from the dealer. Stuff like this you need Subaru Tech Tools.
RoboTuner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 04-18-2017, 10:44 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
 
Hi guys thanks for the responses. Took it in yesterday and it was as simple as a faulty switch lol. Now whether or not that was caused by another underlying problem remains to be seen. They took a switch from a car on the lot and put it on and it worked. Switch ordered, good to go. Got to know the service manager and stuff like that so all in all a good trip. Once again thanks for the responses!
RoboTuner likes this.
Jdubbya10 is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome