Turbo seals shot/New turbo replacement? help - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 01-14-2010, 07:46 PM
WRXtuners Member

flsubygrl is an unknown
Unhappy Turbo seals shot/New turbo replacement? help

I am possibly look at having to get a new turbo since I cant find any one that can rebuild the stock V39

I was told by the mechanic the seals on my turbo are shot, there is oil eveywhere, abnormal amount in intake, intercooler ect...My challenge here is where I live I litterally am the only person in my county that owns an STi, no one locally knows crap about turbo and Im new to Subaru---

If i go ahead and get a new turbo like the TDO5H{blouch performance in PA} what other upgrades if any do I need to do with it? The actuator is calculated with @ 9psi unless you choose to have that upgraded, since its not much of a larger turbo, would it be necessary to make any changes since its a direct bolt on?

I have given up on my stock turbo since no one @ here knows much about the IHI turbos.

What else should I be checking when installing the new turbo, IE Crankcase issues, oil drain tubes ect

what things should i look for that may have cause the stock turbo to crap out?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-14-2010, 08:32 PM
WRXtuners Member

RcrsWetDream is known to be trustworthy and helpful RcrsWetDream is known to be trustworthy and helpful
You can't rebuild IHI turbos so you'll have to get a new one if it is shot. How many miles on the car? Ya have to remember that turbos are subject to extreme heat and extremely high rpm's (think 100k rpms). Depending on the mileage and severity of driving it's possible it's just dead from wearing out over time.