tints killed the radio star - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 04-04-2006, 07:15 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
eighth08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California
Posts: 2,457
Images: 7
eighth08 is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to eighth08
tints killed the radio star

hey i got window tints, i am not sure if i posted this before but i cannot find the answer thru search.
but i got tints, they apprarently have a metallic ingredient to them, that is throwing off my radio.
i have a 2005 wrx and i recall people talking about a fix for this.

anyone have an idea as to how to fix this? i think there is a way by rewiring something in the trunk. but im not 100%

thanks guys.

Gregory-
keep it in the dirt.
eighth08 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 04-04-2006, 07:48 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 569
AWDwannabe is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to AWDwannabe
never heard of that before...

-Pat
▼SbiΣ Mi▼
Eurotrash
Daily Dubbin'
AWDwannabe is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 04-04-2006, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
eighth08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California
Posts: 2,457
Images: 7
eighth08 is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to eighth08
well the antennas are in the back window. and surrounded by interfering metallic tints.

so i want to reroute the wire that goes to the window antennas and make my own antenna but i am not sure which wire does it.

Gregory-
keep it in the dirt.
eighth08 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 04-05-2006, 10:09 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 240
wrx27 is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to wrx27
I have a 2004 and i cant get AM channels after i tinted my windows. FM is fine.
wrx27 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-05-2006, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
eighth08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California
Posts: 2,457
Images: 7
eighth08 is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to eighth08
yeah, i get FM channels pretty decently, still some static though. my main concern is AM radio. for sports and politics n what not. i wish AM worked and FM didnt... who needs FM anyways.. if i wanted music id put in a cd.

Gregory-
keep it in the dirt.
eighth08 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-06-2006, 01:13 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 240
wrx27 is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to wrx27
Truth. I cant listen to any sports on AM and it sucks. Otherwise its a cd for me.
wrx27 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-06-2006, 01:14 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
awd>fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,746
Images: 4
awd>fwd is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to awd>fwd
I get sick of CD's quickly. I don't carry around a CD book because of theft.

Brent
2007 Satin White STi, 1989 Nissan Sil-Coupe, 1998 Toyota 4runner (to be built..)...
awd>fwd is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 04-06-2006, 10:31 AM
Moderator
 
mosc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6,499
Images: 7
mosc is a helpful contributing member
Garage
lol, you're going to need to make another antenna for the car. I don't know where the wire is that runs to the rear glass antenna but you need to find it and cut in a new one. I would suggest you run it around the roof of your car in a big square.
mosc is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 04-06-2006, 04:56 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
eighth08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California
Posts: 2,457
Images: 7
eighth08 is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to eighth08
Quote:
Originally Posted by mosc
lol, you're going to need to make another antenna for the car. I don't know where the wire is that runs to the rear glass antenna but you need to find it and cut in a new one. I would suggest you run it around the roof of your car in a big square.

ok pop the trunk and locate the antenna wire under the rear window, splice that wire so you can add another speaker wire to it, and finally you just ground the wire you just added on and you're done...


fixed.

i did a 31" wire because that picks up the middle of the FM band.

Gregory-
keep it in the dirt.
eighth08 is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On