Strange sound on moderate acceleration - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 10-15-2009, 03:54 PM Thread Starter
Jed
WRXtuners Member

Jed is an unknown
Strange sound on moderate acceleration

Hello,

Newbie here. I ran several searches, but could not find any posts directly related to these concerns.

I just bought a 2005 WRX with 26K miles for my wife. It has some mods on it that I am trying to better understand, and an annoying noise I am trying to identify.

It has:

Turbo XS UTEC (pn# WRX-UTEC-US)

Turbo XS UTEC Switch

K&N Typhoon short ram intake (pn# 69-8001)

G-Reddy exhaust

The car runs well, and the installer dyno’d the car at 227hp at the wheels. But it has a strange (to me) noise. At about 3K RPM under moderate acceleration I get an annoying noise similar to a vacuum leak, or like a secondary carb barrel(s) opening up (I'm showing my age). I cannot reproduce the noise when the car is stationary. There has to be moderate engine load. I also get a “Burp” on decel (I assume this is excess boost pressure being bled off, but don’t know).

I am also trying to figure out what the switch settings mean, and how it should, and should not be used. The gentlemen I bought it from is suffering from a terminal health issue, and did not remember what each switch setting was for.

Thanks for any help you all can provide. I am an old car guy, but tuning modern turbo cars is a whole new world to me.

Cheers
Jed
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 10-16-2009, 10:58 AM
WRXtuners Member

mfarnham is an unknown
Where does the noise sound like its coming from?
post #3 of 12 Old 10-16-2009, 12:51 PM Thread Starter
Jed
WRXtuners Member

Jed is an unknown
The noise sounds like it is coming from the top of the engine, sorry I can't be more specific, but it only happens while the car is moving. It will continue indefinitely as long as the car is moving under light to moderate acceleration. Any gear, and speed. Very annoying

THX
Jed