Stereo Issues - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 05-26-2009, 01:37 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

wooden is an unknown
Stereo Issues

Well, this is my first post on this forum, so hello all. I've had my '02 WRX wagon for about 2 months now, love it to death but I noticed a problem today and attempted to fix it, but it only got worse. Background on the car - I'm fairly certain the stereo is stock, although according to some people the stock stereo sucks and distorts at higher volumes, but mine is crystal clear and kicks ass. Passed 86k miles on Friday, there's a few minor mods to the intake/exhaust and the suspension, but other than that it's stock.

Anyway, while vacuuming it out for the first time this summer, I noticed the subwoofer under the passenger seat for the first time. Being an electrical engineering student, I decided to test the woofer out and noticed it wasn't working. My cousin who works on his RX-7 all the time and knows more about cars and stereos than I do was over so he took a look at it, and we followed the wires to the back of the 6-cd changer. I noticed a 10 amp fuse between the woofer and the cd changer (seems like an odd place for a fuse) so I hopped inside and grabbed a spare 10 amp fuse from one of my bass amps and popped it in - still no sound from the woofer.

I decided to give it a rest for a bit and eat dinner, and when I came back out I put the fuse that was originally in it back in. After this, the stereo no longer turned on, the trip odometer reset itself, the remote lock doesn't work, the AC does not work, the clock will not turn on, and the overhead lights in the cabin do not turn on. Pissed, I decided to drive around for a bit and see what would happen. It never got better, but curiously enough the backlights on the stereo still turn on.