Starting Problem - no crank or spark, turning key does nothing - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 12-13-2010, 12:55 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

fuzebox is an unknown
Starting Problem - no crank or spark, turning key does nothing

A few weeks ago my 2002 WRX had the strangest starting problem. The car behaves like I am trying to start it without pushing the clutch pedal. No reaction at all when turning the key, no starter click at all. I thought it may have been an alarm or starter kill issue, but I can bump start the car just fine. The fuel pump comes on fine. After a few days of me and my friends checking fuses, battery cables, the clutch pedal safety switch, etc, it all of a sudden randomly starts just fine, without a single problem for 3 weeks.

Last night after driving all day, the same problem randomly came back. Had to push start to get home, and now in the driveway it still won't start.

I'm new to Subarus so I was not sure if there was a model-specific sensor or switch or fuse to check... I've been searching the forums and can't find anything so far.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 12-15-2010, 01:21 AM
WRXtuners Member

tommy0202 is an unknown
Same problem

I am having the same problem right now. Except mine is an automatic....ya i know...I got a great deal. My battery was almost dead and i locked my keys in the car and had to get in by AAA. I think it may be some safety mode, however i did try every possible reset in the manual to no avail. Someone please help.
post #3 of 5 Old 12-15-2010, 03:07 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

fuzebox is an unknown
Well I have an update to my issue which won't help you... The problem was the clutch pedal safety switch, bypassing the switch by grounding it solved my problem.
post #4 of 5 Old 12-27-2011, 04:27 AM
WRXtuners Member

tmazss is an unknown