Some of my fan speeds (for AC) stopped working - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 09-22-2010, 08:37 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Nose Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,157
Nose Nuggets is known to be trustworthy and helpful Nose Nuggets is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Some of my fan speeds (for AC) stopped working

Just to be clear off the bat, i am talking about the AC fans in the cabin on my 03.

About 6 months ago the #2 fan speed stopped working entirely. 1, 3, and 4 all worked normally, but if you put it on #2 the fans stop entirely. Today when i got in the car 1, 2, and 3 all don't work, only 4 (full blast) works. A/C still seems to function normally, and toggling the A/C on or off does not effect the issue. The dial itself works normally, it does not feel different when moving it across the different settings.

Any ideas on where to start for diagnostics? or has someone else had the problem and know what it is?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions,
Tristan
Nose Nuggets is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 09-22-2010, 09:07 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
basco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,873
basco is a WRX expert worth listening to basco is a WRX expert worth listening to basco is a WRX expert worth listening to basco is a WRX expert worth listening to basco is a WRX expert worth listening to basco is a WRX expert worth listening to
Send a message via AIM to basco Send a message via MSN to basco
sounds like your HVAC controls are dying, had that happen in the Supra

FP GT35R MoTeC M800 AndrewTech PPG'd Wagon - 513AWHP
06 Mazdaspeed6 280/330
- Matt
basco is offline  
#3 Old 09-22-2010, 09:43 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Nose Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,157
Nose Nuggets is known to be trustworthy and helpful Nose Nuggets is known to be trustworthy and helpful
ooohhh. you think the control cluster just needs to be replaced?
Nose Nuggets is offline  
#4 Old 09-22-2010, 10:13 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
basco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,873
basco is a WRX expert worth listening to basco is a WRX expert worth listening to basco is a WRX expert worth listening to basco is a WRX expert worth listening to basco is a WRX expert worth listening to basco is a WRX expert worth listening to
Send a message via AIM to basco Send a message via MSN to basco
yeah, try just swapping with a pal first

FP GT35R MoTeC M800 AndrewTech PPG'd Wagon - 513AWHP
06 Mazdaspeed6 280/330
- Matt
basco is offline  
#5 Old 10-21-2010, 01:26 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1
kawika is an unknown
I believe there is a resistor pack for the switch that is gone. Each speed has a resistor (other than the high speed). Something like that.

Did you figure it out?

Dave.
kawika is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On