*sigh* Redlined. Bov and turbo not working - Subaru WRX Forum
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 09-30-2013, 09:58 AM
WRXtuners Member

mpinto19k is an unknown
*sigh* Redlined. Bov and turbo not working

So this morning I was trying to merge onto a shity Texas highway, get on the on ramp and gun it, newbie mistake, was so focused on my mirrors trying to make sure I wasn't about to get smashed by another car that I redlined the shit out my 2005 WRX. Now it sounds like straight garbage and my BOV and Turbo are not working. It seems like the turbo is trying to spool but appears there's a leak some where? I looked under the hood and everything seems to be ok and intact. I'm extremely new to Subaru's so I'm very unsure what the is the could be. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Regards
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 09-30-2013, 10:15 AM
WRXtuners Member

Haw1es is more helpful than not
Garage
Yikes! That doesn't sound fun. I'm fairly new to subies too, and I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong. If you're hearing a hissing sound, or it sounds like a leak somewhere is check the hoses that connect to your intercooler or turbo. Hopefully you just popped a hose off. Also if you have a full 100% vent to atmosphere BOV, you may want to change it to a recirculating one.
Just my $.02

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

Shane
2010 WRX
2003 Jetta 2.5
#3 Old 09-30-2013, 10:37 AM
WRXtuners Member

Brockton is a helpful contributing member
Garage
Easiest route is have a boost leak test done at a shop, 20-40 bucks and you know exactly where the leak is, if I had to guess though, I'd guess around the intercooler and throttle body, it seems to be a common place for the couplers to slip. You can always get under the hood and look around for split hoses and loose fittings. If it was your turbo you would know it.

My TB hose came loose under redline acceleration btw.
the RIOT act likes this.
#4 Old 09-30-2013, 11:35 AM
WRXtuners Member