RPM Dropping - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 07-14-2009, 02:59 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

drunkenmonke is an unknown
RPM Dropping

Hey, I had a quick question which I'm assuming is a tuning issue but I'll throw it out there as I'm new to the turbo/wrx community:

Every once in a while, while driving if I shift from first or second or whatever gear to neutral, my rpm's will drop below normal engine idle (1k rpm about), to about 500 rpm's, then jump back up to about 1k rpm, occasionally it will go really low (I've had my car die on me twice in 8 months so it doesn't die often), I'm assuming this is a tuning issue and right now I'm running EcuTek so assuming I'd need a tune I'm looking at getting a different ECU as well because the tuners for ecutek are few and far between for me) If I were to get a new ECU any recommendations that aren't horribly expensive? Thanks, Matt.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 07-14-2009, 04:35 PM
WRXtuners Member

04wrxhart is an unknown
Maybe you just need a tune up ?
post #3 of 9 Old 07-14-2009, 10:03 PM
WRXtuners Member

jed344 is an unknown
just try opensource with rom raider they have a new thing thats safer than ecutek i cant think what it is now
post #4 of 9 Old 07-15-2009, 12:43 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

drunkenmonke is an unknown
I do know I need a new airfilter but can't find any to fit my intake (it's an hks, tried 7 diff places including k&n's website as well as looking up the code on the filter), I guess I'll just start by replacing plugs, injector cleaner, new intake kit (or if i can find the filter), and an oil change, thanks for the advice guys... also where can I pick up a stock ECU so I can try open source?
post #5 of 9 Old 07-15-2009, 12:38 PM
WRXtuners Member

baller_v24 is known to be trustworthy and helpful baller_v24 is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via Yahoo to baller_v24