Rear thumping noise!!! - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 Old 09-12-2008, 02:25 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

souverbielle is an unknown
Rear thumping noise!!!

Alright so i bought my 04 STi back in early 07. Im fairly new to the WRX scene, but anyways back to my prob. Well when I drive my car under 20mph there is a loud thumping noise in the rear. I thought it couldve just been something loose in the trunk. I checked and everything was secure, took out the spare and no go!!!! The car doesnt vibrate or anything. Just that loud thumping noise. Once I go over 20 then it goes away.Has anyone else had this problem? I need HELP!! !Cry!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 09-12-2008, 04:08 PM
WRXtuners Member

WRXKidid775 is more helpful than not
Be more specific. Constant thumping, when your turning, where exactly does it sound like its coming from in the rear?

Robby
02 rex is gone.
I defected to an evo :)
Evo is gone :(
Now I got nothing.
post #3 of 25 Old 09-12-2008, 08:07 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

Actually it doesnt matter wether im turning or going straight. I was wondering if maybe one of my struts might be loose or in need of being replaced. Like i said under 20 you can hear it inside the cabin but over that speed there is no sound.
post #4 of 25 Old 09-23-2008, 08:00 PM
WRXtuners Member

mackster is an unknown
I have the same noise On my 05 STI. I am thinking it is the stiffer bushing.
post #5 of 25 Old 09-23-2008, 09:46 PM
WRXtuners Member

turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to turmic is a WRX expert worth listening to
Send a message via AIM to turmic