Problem with 03 WRX. - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 01-24-2009, 09:07 AM
WRXtuners Member

Deshi is an unknown
Problem with 03 WRX.

Hello guys. I am in need of your help. I own an 03 WRX with 75K miles on it. That car is all stock with the exception of a short shifter.

I drove to the laundry mat night, about 2 miles from my house, really babying it shifting at 2K. When I pulled into the laundry mat parking lot and parked, I got a wiff of something burning. I sat for a minute and saw smoke comming from my hood. I poped the hood and noticed the smoke was coming from my turbo (or that area). Since it was dark, I couldnt tell for sure. There was NO oil or fluids that I could see. I didnt try to drive it back in fear of hurting something thats not allready hurt.

My question is, What do you think it could be? I am new to turbo engines so just taking a guess, I am thinking that my turbo spun a bearing or something of that affect. The car did not throw any cel's so I dont know if pluggin it in would help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-24-2009, 09:19 AM
WRXpert

nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to
it could be something as simple as axel grease on the DP. I would just look around to see if any fluids are leaking in that area.

Dom Tuned 2003 WRX Wagon
251.3 WHP
235.8 WTQ

If it's worth doing, it's worth overdoing
#3 Old 01-24-2009, 09:25 AM
WRXtuners Member

Deshi is an unknown
I would think that to (my old outback blew the front diff and took out the cv) (same smell almost) But the concentration of the smoke was under the turbo heat shield. Could only see with cell phone light.
#4 Old 01-24-2009, 09:47 AM
WRXpert