Please help! Check engine code P0171 - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 05-12-2008, 09:53 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
02Rexwag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4
Images: 3
02Rexwag is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to 02Rexwag
Please help! Check engine code P0171

Hello, I dont usually post due to trying to research all I can first but I need this info asap! My problem is that my wrx threw a P0171 system too lean (Bank 1) Check engine light several minutes after I almost stalled at a traffic light. And before the almost stall the car was sputtering. I have been having a series of problems prior to this including a max boost psi of 8 and slow acceleration. My rex is an automatic with 107,000 miles. And I have colder plugs which were a bad recommendation by a friend and will be removed as soon as I can and replaced with originals. Thanks for any and all comments!!!
Joe
2002 WRX Wagon

Joe
I hear imports!
02Rexwag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 05-13-2008, 08:45 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Longshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,119
Images: 5
Longshot is a helpful contributing member
Send a message via AIM to Longshot
its probably the plugs. Get stockers in there with the right part # and reset the ecu and then see if the CEL comes back.

Mike
DTRacing Tuned
Longshot is offline  
#3 Old 05-13-2008, 11:09 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
WRXtreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,654
WRXtreme is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to WRXtreme
Check the MAF to see if its clean, that may be the problem.
WRXtreme is offline  
#4 Old 05-13-2008, 01:14 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
VD5505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 905
Images: 6
VD5505 is known to be trustworthy and helpful VD5505 is known to be trustworthy and helpful VD5505 is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via AIM to VD5505 Send a message via MSN to VD5505
Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXtreme View Post
Check the MAF to see if its clean, that may be the problem.
+1 to changing the plugs back to OEM, and cleaning that MAF, its a good idea to put a new fuel filter on there as well, they are cheap enough, unless you have just changed it.
VD5505 is offline  
#5 Old 05-13-2008, 09:53 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
02Rexwag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4
Images: 3
02Rexwag is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to 02Rexwag
I will definetly change the fuel filter and plugs! And I will check the MAF sensor and then go from there! Thanks for the replys!!

Joe
I hear imports!
02Rexwag is offline  
#6 Old 05-13-2008, 10:22 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 66
dak287 is an unknown
+1 fuel filter +1 plugs +1 injector cleaner.. i would also pull the vaccum hoses off the turbo and cheak for cracks and leaks + inspect for oil in the vac lines..
dak287 is offline  
#7 Old 10-07-2011, 12:12 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1
JeuceJones is an unknown
I am having the same issue. The car was running fine before I took it in for an oil change. They asked me if I wasnted them to clean out my K&N air filter so I let them. The guy had no idea what he was doing and put it back on before it was dry. I have a feeling that I may just need to clena my MAF. Any ideas?
JeuceJones is offline  
#8 Old 10-07-2011, 01:15 PM
WRXpert
 
dumdum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,800
Images: 12
dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention
Yes,clean the MAF...............

Homebrewed tuned with Opensource!
dumdum is offline  
#9 Old 10-07-2011, 05:16 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
bad grocerygetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 453
Images: 2
bad grocerygetter is a helpful contributing member
I agree with all of that. Question though...is it the stock intake with just a drop in filter? As for the boost problems it could be that your car went to limp mode. Or it could be a boost leak or a missing restrictor pill. Mine was running at 8 psi when i didn't have mine in there.

Kevin.
Cobb ap stage 2 ots, catless uppipe, catless turboback, Cobb Sf intake.
bad grocerygetter is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On