Non oxygenated gas cause rod bearing failure? - Subaru WRX Forum
 4Likes
  • 2 Post By brfatal
  • 2 Post By BLAZE2099

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 07-27-2013, 07:38 PM
WRXtuners Member

Derrrr is an unknown
Non oxygenated gas cause rod bearing failure?

Hey guys, it's been awhile since I've been on but here we go. 2008 wrx wagon. Accessport , aem intake, invidia catted downpipe, srs catback. Was in Minnesota late one night on empty and had to fill with 91 octane non oxygenated gas, said off road use only and was I'm a pinch. Now after another tank of regular 91 and some techron I have a rod bearing going out, only can here it between 2 and 3000 rpm and definitely is a rod bearing noise. Did the non oxygas cause excessive knock and spin the bearing ? It's not too bad now do gonna try and run Lucas through it strip it stock and trade it off but idk. I'm a slow driver and don't know why I have a fast car, I drive 65mph tops on interstate and rarely rarely rarely ever go hard on it. I get made fun of for having it since I don't drive it like its made. Grr problems of being 3rd owner with only 76,000 miles
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 07-28-2013, 12:47 AM
WRXtuners Member

pzr2874 is known to be trustworthy and helpful pzr2874 is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Say whu?

First of all.... a tank of 91 vs 93 will not cause motor issues unless you were beating it up like I did with girls back in the day.

2nd, how do you know it's the bearing?

Paul
2007 XT
2007 MS3
#3 Old 07-28-2013, 12:59 AM
WRXtuners Member

Derrrr is an unknown
Never said anything about 93 octane. I filled with 91 octane non oxygenated gas. And it's a knock from a rod bearing, pretty obvious just hearing it. Our Subaru dealer agreed, so did a friend who's had one go out. I went on YouTube and listened to a few subarus with rod bearings that went out and it's identical, I just wanna know if that non oxygenated gas caused excessive knock and could have been the culprit