Idle/ power steering problem - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 09-24-2008, 10:34 AM
WRXtuners Member

slvrwrx12 is an unknown
Idle/ power steering problem

I am new to owning my wrx and pretty much live on this site reading as much as possible to learn everything I can. after researching through previous threads I find people with similar problems I am having right now but I still have 1 more thing that not many people have been mentioning. When I sit at idle sometimes i have a very rough shake for a few seconds then it goes away. I also have the tick but i know thats normal with these but sometimes it seems much louder then others. Now every so often i will be pulling into a parking spot or making tight turns at very low speeds like 3mph and the power steering will cut in and out. My car is 100% stock and i am just going through making sure everything works properly before i start adding mods and get myself into a bad spot. Any suggestions or help is greatly appreciated thanks everyone.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 09-24-2008, 01:18 PM

mosc is a helpful contributing member
Garage
If you let it sit idle, it gets hot. When it gets hot, it spins up the cooling fans. This torques the thing and it takes a second or two to catch up. It's totally normal. Boxer motors don't idle ultra cleanly to begin with. They burble, shimmy, and tick.

04 STi 16G powered lagless fun
04 WRX: SOLD

Last edited by mosc; 09-24-2008 at 11:51 PM.
#3 Old 09-24-2008, 06:52 PM

newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via Yahoo to newtothegame
Exactly what Mosc said. About your steering, have you checked the fluid level? Maybe its low or the pump is going out. Some things to check there.

Joshua
"2007 WRX- PPG'd, 20G- Tim Bailey tuned
Stage 2 2005 WRX
Cobbtuning.com"
#4 Old 09-24-2008, 08:17 PM
WRXtuners Member

slvrwrx12 is an unknown