Subaru WRX Forum banner

Drive train vibration Dealer can't find it

9K views 24 replies 10 participants last post by  busadave 
#1 ·
Hi Folks, Newbie here,

My Bone stock 04 Impreza, auto trans, Wagon, is my daily driver, and is one of the best cars I have owned. Lately I have been feeling a vibration in the drive train when I have a passenger or two, or if I have the car loaded down with tools, golf clubs, stuff. It is fine when it is just me and no luggage. But apears under heavy load or bogging situation.
I took it to the local dealer, I have 1 mo. left on the factory warranty, for them to check it out. Me and two techs piled in my car for a test drive, Yes they did feel the vibration. We went back to the dealership and lifted it on the rack.
The tech checked the CV joints, U-joints, Carrier bearing, mounts, ect. and could not find anything. They sent me on my way $130.00 later with no resolve.
My question, Is it normal to feel the vibration under heavy load? Could it be deeper than exterior components and be inside the trans ? Anyone have this problem in their car?

Any info or feedback is appreciated.

Thanks.

#2 ·
First off, welcome to the forums.

The only thing that comes to mind immediately which couldn't be easily seen are the tires. As they get old they break down like anything else. Sometimes they will occationally break down to the point at which when they have more weight on them they don't roll evenly. It is also possible that you have a defective tire which dosen't show problems under just the weight of the car.

Some questions:

1.) What make, model and size are your tires, when did you buy them, and how much tread is left, approximately. If you're really ambitious, place a nickel in the tread like this and take a picture.

2.) Have a good look at your tires, are there any signs of dry rot or any cracking where the tread meets the sidewall?