Subaru WRX Forum

Subaru WRX Forum (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/)
-   Problem Diagnosis (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f72/)
-   -   boost spikes and fluctuation (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f72/boost-spikes-fluctuation-29444/)

wagonracer 09-06-2010 09:08 PM

boost spikes and fluctuation

So I've seen this issue pop up in threads from time to time and I'm experiencing it bad.

My boost is spiking sometimes as high as .14 MPa (yikes !) and then wavering up and down pretty quickly. It is worst in 4th or 5th gear going WOT at 3K rpm (freeway passing) It does it to a lesser degree in 3rd also. I've seen others with this problem resorting to a new BCS or a manual BC.

Mileage on the car is 170K and I've been running the same PDX tuning maps for 3-4 years. I've been experiencing this problem slightly for a while, but it's gotten progressively worse esp. the last week. That makes me think that something mechanical is gradually failing. It doesn't seem like the BCS would do that. I'm wondering if either the waste gate actuator (diaphragm) or the BPV (spring) could be responsible. Any ideas ?

BTW, I just got back from a 4000 mile road trip so I can't throw much cash at the car right now, and believe I have a spare BCS somewhere to try for troubleshooting purposes. I'll drop that in tomorrow, and yes I checked for vacuum leaks.

Thanks

basco 09-06-2010 09:25 PM

I had this issue a few years back, turned out to be the BCS. So that would definitely be the first thing I tried.

basco 09-06-2010 09:28 PM

but shouldn't you be running about .14 MPa (~20 Psi) anyways?!

wagonracer 09-06-2010 09:30 PM

No, I'm mapped for around 16-17 PSI max.

wagonracer 09-07-2010 04:33 PM