After Break-in Maintenance - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 10-16-2002, 04:11 PM
WRXtuners Member

nickvu is an unknown
After Break-in Maintenance

It's been a quick month and the car has over 2k miles on it now. I'm guessing the break-in period should be done with and time to bring it in to the dealer?

Bear with me, I'm a bit new at this. What should be checked and which fluids needs to be changed when I do bring it in. I have a manual WRX wagon, so would it be wise to have them change the tranny oil also? Advice appreciated, Nick.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-17-2002, 12:13 AM

Gerlando is an unknown
Well you're past break in so you can wind it out now I replaced my oil after 1500mi. then every 3k until I switched to synthetic at 10k. I replaced my tranny and diff oil to synthetic at 12k. You'll find over time everyone has a different opinion on when to change your oil and when to switch to synthetic. I just read everyone's advice and picked numbers in the middle.

-Gerlando.
<a href=http://www.script-install.com>Script-Install.com</a> | <a href=http://www.enjoychuck.com>EnjoyChuck</a>
#3 Old 10-17-2002, 05:29 PM
WRXtuners Member

nickvu is an unknown
Sounds good Gerlando, I'll keep that in mind when changing to synthetic.

Some left over questions arose since then. Should the transmission oil be changed as well since I've "grinded" it a couple times. I'll have it changed too, but if it really makes no difference to change it this early then let me know.

Correct me if i'm wrong, but there is also oil in the rear differential too?
#4 Old 10-18-2002, 01:03 PM

Gerlando is an unknown
You might want to change your tranny oil now, regardless of grinding you'll probably see a little metal in it from breakin. The sooner you get that out the better right?