Subaru WRX Forum

Subaru WRX Forum (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/)
-   Problem Diagnosis (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f72/)
-   -   2008 wrx crank but no start, no spark...please help! (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f72/2008-wrx-crank-but-no-start-no-spark-please-help-33393/)

pjkolosha 12-20-2012 04:23 PM

2008 wrx crank but no start, no spark...please help!

Hello everyone! I am fairly new to this so if you guys could just please have patience and help me out ###
I recently bought a 2008 wrx hatch that was damaged in the front. Had to replace the timing belt and also get a new cam sprocket. Put the new timing belt on and lining up all the notches and timing belt correctly (double checked many times) and tried to start. The engine was cranking over but no start so i was afraid the valves were bent and there was no compression. So i then began to check the compression....removed all the spark plugs and all valves had compression. I tried to start many times after that and still, engine cranked but no start. I then checked the spark plugs and there was no spark. I have no idea what causes this problem for this is the first time i encountered it. Is there some sensor thats rotted or bad? Ive been searching on forums all day and have found someone answers but nothing that completely answered my question. Every thing seemed to be related to some cam sensor. If anyone that had this problem please help me out i would really appreciate it. thanks

srry...i think i posted the same thread on wrx tech forums. dont know how to navigate well yet...excuse the newbiness

pzr2874 12-21-2012 06:01 AM

Was it running before the timing belt was replaced?

pjkolosha 12-21-2012 03:10 PM