Turbo???? - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 11-14-2007, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Asia
Posts: 109
Images: 4
nicolas316 is an unknown
Turbo????

as you guys most probably know my car is a 2.5L WRX with exhaust and K&N tayphoon intake and ecutek map. now im thinking of a better turbo ### mine is still stock. Can i put a bigger turbo with my stock pistons, intercooler, and fuel injectors? and leter on upgrade the rest? ### doing all together is costly.???
nicolas316 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 11-14-2007, 03:32 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
BAMBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 205
BAMBO is an unknown
For sure you can!! However, IMO there are only a couple of turbos that I would use. I'll use myself as the example. When I started to Mod my rex, I ran a IHI VF30 Turbo with a very agressive tune. so agressive in fact that I had to back the boost down in the high rpm's(ran 19PSI till about 6K then back it down to about 10.5PSI) so that I didnt lean the motor out! I basically maxed out injectors, fuel pump and clutch(mind you it was on its way out anyways). BUT before I upgraded the turbo, I already had a turbo-back(UP, DP mid and catback ... just recently added headers) as well as the intercooler Y-pipe.
So long story short, it was a nice setup for a short period of time. I personally wouldnt run it for too too long ... but it can be done! I would run a VF30,34 or 39 if I was goign that route. but at a minimum, I would have the full exhaust and y-pipe before up-ing the turbo! At least thats my opinion about it all!

oh PS -- not that I like to be the bearer of bad news, but you really dont need the intake till you're about 300hp-350hp at the crank! I have one as well but you really dont need it! jsut for future knowledge!
BAMBO is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 11-14-2007, 03:38 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Asia
Posts: 109
Images: 4
nicolas316 is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by BAMBO View Post
For sure you can!! However, IMO there are only a couple of turbos that I would use. I'll use myself as the example. When I started to Mod my rex, I ran a IHI VF30 Turbo with a very agressive tune. so agressive in fact that I had to back the boost down in the high rpm's(ran 19PSI till about 6K then back it down to about 10.5PSI) so that I didnt lean the motor out! I basically maxed out injectors, fuel pump and clutch(mind you it was on its way out anyways). BUT before I upgraded the turbo, I already had a turbo-back(UP, DP mid and catback ... just recently added headers) as well as the intercooler Y-pipe.
So long story short, it was a nice setup for a short period of time. I personally wouldnt run it for too too long ... but it can be done! I would run a VF30,34 or 39 if I was goign that route. but at a minimum, I would have the full exhaust and y-pipe before up-ing the turbo! At least thats my opinion about it all!

oh PS -- not that I like to be the bearer of bad news, but you really dont need the intake till you're about 300hp-350hp at the crank! I have one as well but you really dont need it! jsut for future knowledge!
thanks for that man. so i could install a bigger turbo on stock intercooler and same pistons for around 5 to 10k miles? it wont do any harm to my car?
nicolas316 is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On