Subaru WRX Forum banner

Performance options for a 2016 wrx?

43K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  xxMattmanxx 
#1 ·
I'm a noob to the Subie culture and have a few questions when it comes to giving my Subie an aggressive yet subtle look. I'm in need of recommendations when it comes to exhaust, cold air intake and a blow off valve. Invidia, tomei expreme, corsa and greedy were some options I was considering.. I want performance but a mean rumble, lol. As for the cold air intake I was thinking aem and the blow off valve an hks sequential? Let me know what you guys think please? Thanks in advance!

:)

#2 · (Edited)
Exhaust: get whatever you like the looks and sound of as far as a catback. You can find sound clips on YouTube for days. If you add a j-pipe into your exhaust you will need to have a tune before adding that into the equation.

Cold air intake: Not necessary! It will make cool wooshy sounds but the stocker is fine until you get past stage 2. A cai will require tuning as well.

Bov: Don't do it!!!!!! There is tons of info out there on why not to do it. Our cars are meant to recycle the air and not blow it off. Hks is the absolute worst bov on the market for our cars. If you must get one, get a bypass valve. I suggest a Cobb.

#3 · (Edited)
here is some useful info:

bov: Blow Off Valve FAQ: Read if you are thinking of buying one! - NASIOC

intake: Intake FAQ: Read if you are thinking of buying one! - NASIOC

exhaust: Exhaust FAQ: Read if you are thinking of buying one! - NASIOC

TL : DR

bov: dont get one. your stock bpv is more than adequate.

intake: dont get one. your stock intake is good for ~400hp.

exhaust: get the one you like the sound of most since youre the one hearing it 99% of the time. all the high-end exhaust flow about the same so there is no arguable difference between power gains. since you saved money not buying an intake or bov, you can afford the exhaust you really want

#4 ·