New to the Tuning game - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 03-13-2008, 05:36 PM
WRXtuners Member

KIKIJOHART is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to KIKIJOHART
Smile New to the Tuning game

Im sure everyone is sick of this kind of question, but im used to being able to send my PCM away to be tuned, and get it back and its perfect. I dont know how WRX stuff works since i just got one. From what i understand there seems to be a debate between AP and opensource tuning, i know opensource sounds cheaper, but is AP a better route for a quality tune?

Thanks
Killian

O and hi to everyone since im a complete newbie to the forum
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-13-2008, 05:48 PM

mosc is a helpful contributing member
Garage
Ecutek actually still does the "send us your ECU and we'll send it back with a map" approach. Cobb just sells you a portable re-flasher but designed it to bind to one ECU only. Reflashing yourself is not complicated. It hooks up to the ODB-II port. Open source works similarly except you use a laptop to hook up as your reflasher (also through the ODB-II port).

The best map for your car is one custom made FOR your car. Neither really offer that but what they do offer is more aggressive base maps Cobb's strength is it's maps which are thoroughly tested and widely used. In the open source world, if you want a base map you have to trust what you are borrowing from somebody else.

Cobb's AP also has a lot of other features besides reflashing and it of course works on it's own rather than requiring a computer. You do get a fancy toy for all those extra dollars!

Nobody can say one is better than the other, they're both good choices and good values.

04 STi 16G powered lagless fun
04 WRX: SOLD
#3 Old 03-13-2008, 06:42 PM

newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful newtothegame is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Send a message via Yahoo to newtothegame