Subaru WRX Forum

Subaru WRX Forum (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/)
-   Tuning & Engine Management (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f70/)
-   -   new to tuning (http://www.wrxtuners.com/forums/f70/new-tuning-31317/)

mazzanic 09-11-2011 06:25 PM

new to tuning

just bought an 09 wrx and looking to eventually down the road to tune the engine.. which company is the best for an ecu flash? i heard cobb does wonders for the wrx but is there any other setups that work better? im a newbie to this whole car tuning stuff i come from driving an impala and crotch rocket to this monster turbo.. so i just wanna do a lotta researching before i do any type of mods..

pzr2874 09-12-2011 05:46 AM

Any that work better?

Either a COBB AP or an Opensource tune is your best bet.

What are your long term goals for the car? There are tons of tuners up in your area, using both of the tuning solutions above.

tommelleo22 09-13-2011 08:32 PM

opensource ftw

basco 09-13-2011 09:33 PM

AP FTL...you spend an extra 500ish for absolutely nothing you cant do with a 15 dollar cable and laptop

newtothegame 09-14-2011 08:13 AM

Opinions are just like a$$holes...everyone has one. Read and research, see what fits your budget and which you and a tuner like more, go that route.

pzr2874 09-14-2011 08:32 AM

^^ Don't hold back now, tell us how you really feel ROFL

BoostinChick 09-14-2011 09:30 AM

There is no "what company is best" they all do similar jobs, flash/monitor your ECU. The main difference is the type of tune and ease of functionality they give.

I went with Tactrix/open source for 3-main reasons:
1.) I am not a fan of off the shelf tunes that thousands of others may have
2.) I prefer to look at a netbook screen rather than a tiny lcd screen
3.) $$$

I would say open source may be a little advanced if you are not sure what you are looking at, but there are many "e-tuners" around the country that are good at helping n00bs out.

READ READ READ