Subaru WRX Forum banner

New BOV

2K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  BLAZE2099 
#1 ·
hey all, im thinking about getting a new BOV, its a 02 impreza wrx everything is stock, i will probably keep it mostly that way, im not into racing or anything, but i do like the sound of a louder BOV. i was wondering what kinds i should be looking into, because i believe the stock ones recirculate the blow-off ? is this essential? or can i just buy any 'ol BOV and stick it on there? I'm new to subaru's , and well cars in general, so keep that in mind, lol i think the only other thing i might do in the near future is put a catback on for some better sound, any thoughts there? i want it not too quiet, but not too loud.

THANKS!

#3 ·
The Go fast bits Bov would meet your needs and is fully adjustable to vent to full atmospheric back to full recirculate if you want to go back it is a little pricey but I have it installed on my 02 wrx and my engine runs perfectly normal at full vent no problem.

Now there are the obvious drawbacks as your engine will end up running rich for a very very brief period of time as the air that is being vented has been metered by your mass air flow sensor so since the air has been metered fuel is sent to accommodate that air and when it gets vented the fuel keeps coming, but again this is a very very short period of time and does no catastrophic type damage to your engine.

My opinion is if you enjoy the sound of the vent go with that Bov as you can always turn a knob and switch to full recirculate if you change your mind down the road. Literally you can pull over pop the hood and change it with your bare hands!Thumbs Up

#5 ·
To each their own. There are several more expensive bov/bpv out there that work well and can adjust to either way. But to be on the safe side.
I suggest for you- do a snorkus delete( look up a DIY for this)
And do a nice cat back.
With these two mods, it shouldn't break your bank, but still give you the sounds you want.