LC-1 Install - Subaru WRX Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 Old 03-11-2008, 01:27 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
VanillaJuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 189
Images: 2
VanillaJuice is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to VanillaJuice
LC-1 Install

ok so i am FINALLY getting to Stage 2 in April...been waiting since last summer for Crucial Racing to release their new downpipe....and i was going to go ahead and get the LC-1 while im putting in the downpipe. I was lookin at their install manual online and it looks confusing as hell....is the LC-1 an easy install? anyone have a good write up?

Opensource tune by CAMTuning.com
Parts from Jeremy at Crucial Racing
VanillaJuice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 Old 03-11-2008, 08:17 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Longshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,119
Images: 5
Longshot is a helpful contributing member
Send a message via AIM to Longshot
Innovate Videos :: Engine Tuning Resources

It has an install video for the LM-1, but also background on the LC-1. I'm sure this should help you out.

Mike
DTRacing Tuned
Longshot is offline  
post #3 of 29 Old 03-11-2008, 10:22 AM
WRXpert
 
nagyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,181
Images: 4
nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to nagyhead is a WRX expert worth listening to
its really not that hard to install. what guage will you be using?

Dom Tuned 2003 WRX Wagon
251.3 WHP
235.8 WTQ

If it's worth doing, it's worth overdoing
nagyhead is offline  
post #4 of 29 Old 03-11-2008, 11:51 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
VanillaJuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 189
Images: 2
VanillaJuice is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to VanillaJuice
no gauge for now...just using the LC-1 with enginuity for logging

Opensource tune by CAMTuning.com
Parts from Jeremy at Crucial Racing
VanillaJuice is offline  
post #5 of 29 Old 03-12-2008, 03:07 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
VanillaJuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 189
Images: 2
VanillaJuice is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to VanillaJuice
ok i caved and bought the DB gauge ....only 60 bux more.....one more question....the DP im getting has an auxillary o2 sensor bung about 4 or so inches away from the turbo....is this the best spot for the install of the o2 sensor?

Opensource tune by CAMTuning.com
Parts from Jeremy at Crucial Racing
VanillaJuice is offline  
post #6 of 29 Old 03-12-2008, 07:45 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
pddvl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 11
Images: 1
pddvl1 is an unknown
put it in the rear oxygen sensor bung if you remove your cat or the downpipe if it gets too hot it could freek out like to close to the turbo outlet, install is straight forward . I wired mine right to the ecu area with switch and light right under right side by the fan motor zip tied to harness makes it easy to reset, If you get a late version of enguinuity you can log this lc-1 with your data logs works great for realtime afr .
pddvl1 is offline  
post #7 of 29 Old 03-12-2008, 11:01 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Longshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,119
Images: 5
Longshot is a helpful contributing member
Send a message via AIM to Longshot
Quote:
Originally Posted by VanillaJuice View Post
DP im getting has an auxillary o2 sensor bung about 4 or so inches away from the turbo....is this the best spot for the install of the o2 sensor?
No good. It'll get too hot and burn your sensor out in no time. The best place is down by the O2 sensor on the DP, but you'll have to have a shop weld a bung for you. Mkae sure though it's in the "10 or 2 o'clock range" meaning it's at an angle to avoid condensation build up.

Mike
DTRacing Tuned
Longshot is offline  
post #8 of 29 Old 03-12-2008, 11:44 AM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
VanillaJuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 189
Images: 2
VanillaJuice is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to VanillaJuice
so you're saying replace the factory o2 rear sensor with this wideband....and i dont need to wire it into the ecu like the stock o2 rear sensor is? i can just clear the CEL's for the rear o2 sensor with enginuity and it will run fine? in other words...the factory rear o2 sensor is only for emissions and has nothing to do with how the car runs correct?

Opensource tune by CAMTuning.com
Parts from Jeremy at Crucial Racing
VanillaJuice is offline  
post #9 of 29 Old 03-12-2008, 05:59 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Jave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,577
Images: 6
Jave is more helpful than not
I was recommended the LC-1 and have had nothing but problems. When it works, it does so beautifully. I have had to constantly mess with it just to get it calibrated when I log and half the time the LED that is wired in for troubleshooting indicates a problem. So I check the SW and and sure enough no signal. After running the firmware update tool the problem goes away for about 2 weeks then starts all over. I finally just pulled the wideband until I need to log and deal with the issue then.

▼SbiΣ Mi▼
Jave is offline  
post #10 of 29 Old 03-12-2008, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
VanillaJuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 189
Images: 2
VanillaJuice is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to VanillaJuice
ok well that didnt really help with where to install it...and i already bought it....

Opensource tune by CAMTuning.com
Parts from Jeremy at Crucial Racing
VanillaJuice is offline  
post #11 of 29 Old 03-17-2008, 04:25 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Jave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,577
Images: 6
Jave is more helpful than not
I installed it in the bung on my DP right after the turbo. I talked to Tim Bailey about it and he said that is where he installs for a tune so it is good. But if you are worried about heat make a heat sink following the instructions in the manual.

▼SbiΣ Mi▼
Jave is offline  
post #12 of 29 Old 03-17-2008, 07:03 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
VanillaJuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 189
Images: 2
VanillaJuice is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to VanillaJuice
ya its gonna be on a crucial racing coated dp...but im gonna leave it in since it comes with a gauge so i can monitor the a/f ratio.

Opensource tune by CAMTuning.com
Parts from Jeremy at Crucial Racing
VanillaJuice is offline  
post #13 of 29 Old 03-17-2008, 08:36 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Jave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,577
Images: 6
Jave is more helpful than not
For perm install to be on the safe side have the bung that came with the kit welded in at the recommend length away from the turbo (18" I think).

Also let me know how your install goes.

▼SbiΣ Mi▼
Jave is offline  
post #14 of 29 Old 03-19-2008, 07:40 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
VanillaJuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 189
Images: 2
VanillaJuice is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to VanillaJuice
so noone knows if i can just unplug the factory o2 sensor in the dp and plug the lc-1 wideband o2 sensor in its place? i called Innovate and they said in a catless setup to just put it in place of the stock o2 sensor....the stock one doesnt serve any purpose other than emissions testing correct? i have disabled it via enginuity so i guess im ok????

Opensource tune by CAMTuning.com
Parts from Jeremy at Crucial Racing
VanillaJuice is offline  
post #15 of 29 Old 03-19-2008, 08:06 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Longshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,119
Images: 5
Longshot is a helpful contributing member
Send a message via AIM to Longshot
Quote:
Originally Posted by VanillaJuice View Post
so noone knows if i can just unplug the factory o2 sensor in the dp and plug the lc-1 wideband o2 sensor in its place? i called Innovate and they said in a catless setup to just put it in place of the stock o2 sensor....the stock one doesnt serve any purpose other than emissions testing correct? i have disabled it via enginuity so i guess im ok????
Correct plenty have done that.

Mike
DTRacing Tuned
Longshot is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On