How to adjust your wastegate arm - Page 2 - Subaru WRX Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#16 Old 05-17-2007, 05:08 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
wrxgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 433
Images: 5
wrxgtr is more helpful than not
Send a message via Yahoo to wrxgtr
why not just go stage 2

MIKE
TUNED BY 555 MOTORSPORTS
visit me @ www.myspace.com/subienews
wrxgtr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#17 Old 05-18-2007, 01:38 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Scoops04WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 56
Scoops04WRX is an unknown
wouldnt stage 2 work better with a DP and full exhaust?
Scoops04WRX is offline  
#18 Old 05-18-2007, 06:54 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
ArmyWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 581
ArmyWRX is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to ArmyWRX Send a message via Yahoo to ArmyWRX
how mush do you turn.... from stock to make like 16 lbs
ArmyWRX is offline  
#19 Old 05-18-2007, 07:17 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
BithellWgn06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 355
BithellWgn06 is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArmyWRX View Post
how mush do you turn.... from stock to make like 16 lbs
STOP RIGHT THERE!!!!!!!
Do you have any EM?
If you do you should either have a boost gauge and/ or a laptop to monitor your settings.
!!!!!!!!!DO NOT ARBITRARILY (sp) TURN YOUR WASTEGATE ARM!!!!!!
Everyone`s "may" be set to different lenghts depending on how it came from the factory.
Thank you and have a nice day.

BJJ for the win!
BithellWgn06 is offline  
#20 Old 05-18-2007, 07:21 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
ArmyWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 581
ArmyWRX is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to ArmyWRX Send a message via Yahoo to ArmyWRX
i do have a lab top and i just got the program to monitor my setting.... i also have my new dp pipe on the way.... not planing on doing anything untill after the first when i get home....
ArmyWRX is offline  
#21 Old 05-18-2007, 07:28 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
BithellWgn06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 355
BithellWgn06 is an unknown
DO NOT TOUCH THAT WASTEGATE ARM..... until AFTER you flash a map that calls for upping your boost manually at the arm. And I recommend not putting that DP on until you have an EM for it. I am no tuner , but you need to have at the very least an OTS map for the DP. Some guys have run their cars with no problems, but you really are`nt going to see any MAJOR gains from this mod. Do yourself a favor and buy a map from XPT or one of the other maps they have on their website, since you already have the cable and the program, I think the map for your ride is only like $25.

BJJ for the win!
BithellWgn06 is offline  
#22 Old 05-18-2007, 07:32 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
ArmyWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 581
ArmyWRX is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to ArmyWRX Send a message via Yahoo to ArmyWRX
The xpt map is 52 bucks and i dont have the cable yet im trying to find someone thatll let me use theres for a couple days while im home
ArmyWRX is offline  
#23 Old 05-18-2007, 07:49 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
BithellWgn06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 355
BithellWgn06 is an unknown
They used to be only $25, oh well! Still, $52, that`s cheap as hell!
And if you don`t have the cable yet then you can`t monitor your system and you SHOULD NOT TOUCH YOUR WASTEGATE ARM!.
I only say this with the utmost urgency (sp) because I do not want to see you pop your motor. You will most definitely enjoy the maps they have there and will learn quite a bit from logging your ecu and they have great customer service over there if you need anything. I have just flashed stage 3 and love it. I just bought stage 3 RACE and will flash that once my other parts arrive. When I went to stage 2 with just my DP and filter (no cat back) I was grinnin from ear to ear. Trust me and don`t do anything until you have the map and then flash it the same time you install your DP and you will be happy as Fu(&!!!

BJJ for the win!
BithellWgn06 is offline  
#24 Old 05-18-2007, 07:51 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
BithellWgn06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 355
BithellWgn06 is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArmyWRX View Post
The xpt map is 52 bucks and i dont have the cable yet im trying to find someone thatll let me use theres for a couple days while im home
You know, I was going to do the same thing, but really it is a good investment and I keep mine in my glove box just so I can see what`s going on whenever I want.
I have seen people selling them used on this forum and over at nabisco

BJJ for the win!
BithellWgn06 is offline  
#25 Old 05-18-2007, 08:00 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
ArmyWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 581
ArmyWRX is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to ArmyWRX Send a message via Yahoo to ArmyWRX
o ok ive never even though about that thanks
ArmyWRX is offline  
#26 Old 05-18-2007, 08:10 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
wrxgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 433
Images: 5
wrxgtr is more helpful than not
Send a message via Yahoo to wrxgtr
pay attention to the cautions doing things the wrong way usually end BADLY

MIKE
TUNED BY 555 MOTORSPORTS
visit me @ www.myspace.com/subienews
wrxgtr is offline  
#27 Old 05-18-2007, 08:27 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
ArmyWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 581
ArmyWRX is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to ArmyWRX Send a message via Yahoo to ArmyWRX
i cant find one if anyone has one for sale let me know....
ArmyWRX is offline  
#28 Old 06-06-2007, 11:27 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 3
HighPSI is an unknown
My car is a stock 07 WRX I'm going to be running an Alky kit, but before I do I need a good scan tool before I turn up the boost Who makes the best scan tool that's easy to use? I don't want the night rider version if you know what I mean. "KIT I need you buddy" lol That was lame.


Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxgtr View Post
this action is done when you are useing stage 2+ and not reaching your target boost only
DO NOT ADJUST WHILE STOCK OR STAGE 1( it is not needed)


1: Remove C-CLIP from the WG Actuator DO NOT DROP THE C-CLIP
2: Loosen the WG Adjuster nut with 10mm wrench
3: Remove the Adjuster from the WG Flapper by pulling up.
4: Shorten the length of the arm to increase boost, opposite to decrease.
5: Place Adjuster back onto the WG Flapper.
6: Place C-CLIP back onto the locker.
7: Tighten 10mm Adjuster nut to when done

turn only half a turn at a time then check boost

DO NOT ADJUST UNTIL YOU HAVE PROPER EM AND AN ACCURATE WAY TO MONITOR YOUR BOOST!!!!
HighPSI is offline  
#29 Old 10-29-2007, 11:07 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
deathskrye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 62
Images: 10
deathskrye is an unknown
Ok, so heres my question. I already flashed my ecu and now have xpt stage 2 with the exact mods needed.

I have a omori boost gauge and it has a button called hold and it shows me my top boost. When im driving it hits the normal stock amount usually less. When i press the hold button it usually shows about 17 psi. So im like O shit. And when i have the cable hooked up im not exactly sure what i should be looking at in enginuity. I just wanna make sure im not gunan turn it up to much. I dont have the money to pay for a repair right now. What like value should i be looking at in enginuity. Also is my boost gauge broken/ or just connected wrong? And my final question is where can I go buy extra C clips because i know im bound to drop it lol.
deathskrye is offline  
#30 Old 10-30-2007, 08:32 AM
WRXpert
 
dumdum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,800
Images: 12
dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention dumdum is a WRX tech God, pay attention
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathskrye View Post
Ok, so heres my question. I already flashed my ecu and now have xpt stage 2 with the exact mods needed.

I have a omori boost gauge and it has a button called hold and it shows me my top boost. When im driving it hits the normal stock amount usually less. When i press the hold button it usually shows about 17 psi. So im like O shit. And when i have the cable hooked up im not exactly sure what i should be looking at in enginuity. I just wanna make sure im not gunan turn it up to much. I dont have the money to pay for a repair right now. What like value should i be looking at in enginuity. Also is my boost gauge broken/ or just connected wrong? And my final question is where can I go buy extra C clips because i know im bound to drop it lol.
You can by the C clips at almost any hardware/automotive stores.The auto motive stores come in a assortment pack made by Help!.Do not go by your boost gauge alone.The 17 psi might have been just a momentary spike.Use the cable and Enginiuty to log and use that info instead of the boost gauge.If you don't have the money to fix what you break,you should spend some time reading....

http://www.scoobypedia.co.uk/index.php/Knowledge/ECU
http://www.enginuity.org/Documentation/EnginuityFAQ
http://www.enginuity.org/Documentation/TuningFAQ

Homebrewed tuned with Opensource!
dumdum is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On