Help with EM after Stage 1 Mods - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 05-06-2010, 10:44 PM
WRXtuners Member

Cambow88 is an unknown
Help with EM after Stage 1 Mods

Ok, I am new to this but have been doing lots of research and here are the modifications I have decided that I want to do on my stock 2.0L 02 WRX:

- Uppipe (catless)
- Short Ram Intake
- Lightened Crank Pulley
- 4" Downpipe (catless)

I know I have to do Engine Management on my car to accomodate these mods but I have no idea how to go about doing this.

I don't want to spend the money on a Cobb or any other handheld tool of which I have no idea how to use. I do have EcuFlash but I don't think I am knowledgeable enough to work with that as of yet unless any of you have a simple explanation for me.

Any help on the EM or other suggestions and comments about these modifications would be greatly appreciated as I am really excited to start working on this!

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 05-07-2010, 06:50 AM
WRXtuners Member

man show is a WRX expert worth listening to man show is a WRX expert worth listening to man show is a WRX expert worth listening to
The Cobb AP is actually very user friendly. Like you mentioned, the hardest part is paying several hundred bucks for it, but you'd spend almost that much for a really good professional tune. Arguably, the cheapest form of engine management requires a Tactrix cable and a laptop and whatever map you trust enough to purchase and install on your car.

John
07 WRX (Albins 5MT + Blouch 20G)
Jorge Carrillo Tuned (365 whp/340 wtq)
#3 Old 05-07-2010, 08:18 AM
WRXtuners Member

RcrsWetDream is known to be trustworthy and helpful RcrsWetDream is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Wyoming MI, my wife went to GVSU so I spent a lot of time there.