Subaru WRX Forum banner

Fine knock learn numbers

45K views 6 replies 2 participants last post by  Cujoman10 
#1 ·
So I did a 3rd gear pull in my 2013 wrx, and I'm still learning how to read the values. I didn't get any feed back knock, but I can see I got some fine knock learn. I read through cobbs thing for how to read the numbers, but still a little fuzzy on whats good, and whats not. So I'm going to post it here for the more knowledgeable people to take a look at it. Thanks in advanced!

Attachments

#2 ·
Generally speaking, fine learning knock is a way for your ECU to put in a timing compensation (by reducing timing advance, in your case by -1.4 degrees) for a specific area of the map after repeated knock events have happened in that area of the map.

Under a quality tune, you should therefore NEVER have any Fine Learning Knock Correction. If you do experience it, it's likely because you have too much timing, or your AFR is off and you're running a bit too lean. In your case it looks like this happens as your turbo is spooling.

Some people say it's ok, and do run small Fine Learning Knock correction numbers. Personally, it's easy enough for me to tune to fix them so my motor runs as healthy as possible while making clean power.

Think of it this way, it's better to make a little less power by turning down timing in that area of the map .25-.5 a degree where knock happens... rather than the ECU placing -1.4 correction for the whole area of the map.... OR worse, if you are running aggressive timing all around, if you get Feedback Knock Correction of say -2.8 or -4.2 in random areas of the map... that's a LOT of power lost due to a correction that can be prevented from happening in the first place.

Try this:
-Look at learning table values to see exactly what part of the map the Fine Learning Knock correction is happening at (although you can determine that by looking at RPM and load where the Fine Learning Knock Correction kicks in, and at which point it stops)