Ecutek? - Subaru WRX Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 07-06-2007, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Asia
Posts: 109
Images: 4
nicolas316 is an unknown
Ecutek?

Just curious to know, i had installed ECUTEK map on my 07 WRX when it was still stock, with stock exhaust, my mechanic said that with stock exhasut ECUTEK gave me 255bhp with 390NM of torque is that possible? and now with 76mm catless pipes and a second ECUTEK map he says i have about 270bhp is that possible too?? and if anyone used ECUTEK, how much horse power did u gain?? what should be my next step in increaing horse power?
nicolas316 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-06-2007, 07:40 PM
Ian
Moderator
 
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,722
Images: 9
Ian is more helpful than not
Send a message via AIM to Ian
I gained about 50 hp at the wheels with Ecutek. I also had a full turbo back exhaust, up pipe and intake. So depending on the dyno your numbers are not that far off, but I would say there a little high

My turbo's fixed and a lot better =)
Ian is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-06-2007, 09:25 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
peedubbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 15
Images: 3
peedubbz is an unknown
ok so whats better ECUTEK or cobb?
peedubbz is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-06-2007, 10:47 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 158
koolpaul1082 is an unknown
either is really better that the other they are both piggy back em's. cobb is obvisiously better known and proven also easier to use. so its a little pricer i believe. whats more important is what supporting mods you use and lasting getting a protune will net you the most noticable power gains and reliablity.
koolpaul1082 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-07-2007, 05:27 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
peedubbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 15
Images: 3
peedubbz is an unknown
does cobb have to be plugged in while you use the map? everyone is talking bout hiding the wires . i was under the impression that you plug it in dl the map then through it in the glove box.
peedubbz is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-08-2007, 04:24 PM
Moderator
 
mosc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6,501
Images: 7
mosc is a helpful contributing member
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by peedubbz View Post
does cobb have to be plugged in while you use the map? everyone is talking bout hiding the wires . i was under the impression that you plug it in dl the map then through it in the glove box.
no. You only plug it in when you want to reflash. The v2.0 though can be used to monitor boost, EGT, or other things though if plugged into the stock ECU while it's running. It's a reflasher though so once it flashes, it's not required.

The real advantage vs other flashes is that the cobb itself stores all your maps so you can change maps yourself or keep a copy of the professionally made map so that you don't have to run back to your tune shop if you loose it.

04 STi 16G powered lagless fun
04 WRX: SOLD
mosc is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-08-2007, 07:14 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
peedubbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 15
Images: 3
peedubbz is an unknown
yeah that sounds like a really nice upgrade. def. goin on the wish list.
peedubbz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome