ECU reset question - Subaru WRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 01-15-2007, 09:16 PM Thread Starter
WRXtuners Member

spokeshave is an unknown
ECU reset question

Forgive me if this is a stupid question. I'm still new to Subaru, and I haven't gotten all the lingo down. My understanding has always been that resetting the ECU was a simple matter of disconnecting the negative battery terminal and draining off any residual charge by depressing the brake pedal. However, I was reading Scoobypedia, and found this:

http://www.scoobypedia.co.uk/index.p...ledge/ECUReset

When referring to "new age" Denso ECUs, they say:

The Denso ECUís donít have a manual reset function like the JECS ones. The Denso units apparently have a non-volatile RAM, so even disconnecting the battery wonít do it. The only way to reset these ECUs is via the OBDII diagnostics port using a computer.

So, I am wondering if I am wrong about resetting the ECU by disconnecting the battery. Now, Scoobypedia does not actually define "new age", and I'm not sure which cars have the Denso ECU. At any rate, I would like to know if my 06 WRX cannot be reset using the battery method. Wehn I bought the SPT intake, I was told by the dealer that disconnecting the battery would *not* reset the ECU. I was skeptical about this in part because of what I have read here and on other forums and also because he told me that the newer models had "hard drives" in the ECUs.

So, what's the real deal? I apologize if this has been covered before. I tried a search, but if you try a search on "ECU reset" you will see why I gave up.

Thanks.

Tim
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 01-15-2007, 09:31 PM
WRXtuners Member

03'WRXDriva is an unknown
Send a message via MSN to 03'WRXDriva Send a message via Yahoo to 03'WRXDriva
Ive done it a few times, by disconnecting the cable hitting the brakes to bleed power and waitning a while and hookin it back up and it works every time.