Subaru WRX Forum banner

E-tune or dyno tune?

37K views 33 replies 13 participants last post by  boo-key 
#1 ·
Alright, so i have got all my mods together and am ready to tune after I find the time to install. My problem is choosing a tuner. My current mods are catless tbe, and cobb ap. I am currently tuned via e-tune from pdx tuning. I am not very happy with my tune right now. I am no expert and truth be told know very little about what im looking at in my datalogs but, something just feels off about my current tune. My goals are first and foremost a safe dd tune! After that more power, and a fun to drive car for the occasional honduh spanking, dragon run, or just some spirited driving. Mods to be added this go around are tgv deletes, air pump delete, pnp sti intake manifold, phenolic spacers, wideband afr gauge, k&n short ram intake, perrin turbo inlet, grimmspeed 3 port ebcs, and grimmspeed coated v-band uppipe with tial 38 mm wastegate.

There is a shop in town with a dyno that tunes subarus but, I cant find anything out about their reputation. I will include a link to their website. I'm not crazy about trusting my engine to someone with no reputation. My other option is another e-tune. This time I am considering torqued performance because I have saw nothing but good reviews about them. What do you guys think is the best way to go?

Welcome to Fastech Motorsports

#4 ·
Like mentioned, e-tuning can take multiple times to get right and also requires some computer skills unless thing can get frustrating. I have 2 friends that have tried e-tuning on non Subarus and stopped due to lack of quality, time needed, and overall brain damage aquired lol! I personally am a fan of a dyno/street pro tune (which can be done with your AP) as it's truly dialed in to YOUR car and YOUR mods. An off the shelf stage 2 from Cobb would be a "safe" way to go as well. If you do go pro tune just call Cobb and they'll hook you up with their closest reputable tuner.