b4 i do a major upgrade... - Subaru WRX Forum
 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 06-25-2013, 03:36 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
thekamikaze kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 533
thekamikaze kid is a helpful contributing member
b4 i do a major upgrade...

so heres my situation:
i currently have a cbe and perrin sri on an untuned car.
I plan to put on a up, dp, 3 port ebcs, and fuel pump, with a road tune.
problem is the tuner has to come in from out of state to tune, he comes in when there a few cars that need tunes, i am not suer how frequent this happens yet, and even the shop i have to go to is far away. so my question is this:
if anything breaks do i have to bring it back to get another tune? even if i put the same part back on?

Last edited by thekamikaze kid; 06-25-2013 at 06:44 PM.
thekamikaze kid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 06-25-2013, 04:31 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,970
pzr2874 is known to be trustworthy and helpful pzr2874 is known to be trustworthy and helpful
whoa.. .slow down.

You have an AP right? This isn't an OpenSource tuner? Meaning the tuner will slap the tune on your AP.

With an OS tune, you are at the tuners mercy.

Try to explain it better.... Define "breaks"... Do you mean if your UP/DP/3port/FP dies.... do you have to get another tune? No... just replace what's broke.

Paul
2007 XT
2007 MS3
pzr2874 is offline  
#3 Old 06-25-2013, 04:58 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
thekamikaze kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 533
thekamikaze kid is a helpful contributing member
i do not have an ap. i figured id have a pro do it for me. all i know is taht is a road tune and the charge is like 250. when i mean "if something breaks" like say if i have to replace a turbo or something will i need another tune? id most likely have all the performance parts put on at a performance shop, and all other stuff like if my turbo goes to a local repair shop. any help would be awesome.
thekamikaze kid is offline  
#4 Old 06-25-2013, 05:17 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,970
pzr2874 is known to be trustworthy and helpful pzr2874 is known to be trustworthy and helpful
As long as your charger isn't on it's way out NOW.... and you replace with the same part it was tuned with, you should be GTG... still think you should get an AP....

Paul
2007 XT
2007 MS3
pzr2874 is offline  
#5 Old 06-25-2013, 05:24 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
thekamikaze kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 533
thekamikaze kid is a helpful contributing member
thanks again pzr2874! only thing is with the ap, ap=550 and road tune=250, and im broke now. lol
thekamikaze kid is offline  
#6 Old 06-25-2013, 06:31 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
thekamikaze kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 533
thekamikaze kid is a helpful contributing member
also if u guys have any advice for this upgrade i would be more than happy to hear it, since this is my first major upgrade on any car ever.
thekamikaze kid is offline  
#7 Old 06-25-2013, 06:31 PM
Vendor

 
PROImportTuners's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: California
Posts: 220
PROImportTuners is more helpful than not
Cobb has of the shelf maps for your car that should be able to run your setup pretty well without the need for a road tune. You can of course get a tailor made map that will be exactly for your unique setup, but if you want to drive the car safely before getting a custom tune, the Cobb maps usually work very well.

You might even be happy with an OTS map and decide that you don't need the road tune.


PRO Import Tuners
http://www.proimporttuners.com
PROImportTuners is offline  
#8 Old 06-25-2013, 06:47 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
thekamikaze kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 533
thekamikaze kid is a helpful contributing member
i checked with cobb and perrin to see if they had maps for my perrin short ram intake and they didnt have one for my year. originally ib was just going to buy a cobb and flash to stage 1 also i do not have the stock airbox because i bought the car with it on. i did a lot of research and figured my setup was just about bulletproof. but i am still a newb at this.
thekamikaze kid is offline  
#9 Old 06-25-2013, 07:35 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Brockton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 372
Brockton is a helpful contributing member
Garage
I would do what you can to get a safe tune on the car, then save some money to hide away for an "oh s***!" fund. Especially having an older bugeye, its good have money put back for basic maintenance and repairs. I bought my car about 2 months ago and have already had to fix about 4 boost leak issues, replace front rotors and breaks, change engine oil, tranny, and diff fluid. Its better to have a car that is running than a car that has a lot of bolt ons but is broke down. =/
Brockton is offline  
#10 Old 06-26-2013, 01:46 AM
Premium Member
 
Nathan21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 550
Images: 7
Nathan21 is an unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brockton View Post
Its better to have a car that is running than a car that has a lot of bolt ons but is broke down. =/
I could not agree with you more but on the other hand, when that car with all the bolt-ons run, it would be a blast to drive!!
Nathan21 is offline  
#11 Old 06-26-2013, 12:52 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
thekamikaze kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 533
thekamikaze kid is a helpful contributing member
well, u only live once! ive had my car fer like a year and nothing major has gone wrong with it. hopefully she holds together for a few more years anyway. thanks fer the insight guys!
thekamikaze kid is offline  
#12 Old 06-27-2013, 10:05 AM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,355
Images: 9
brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to
Garage
Perrin's intakes absolutely require custom tuning to have on the car. They are some of the worst on the market at skewing MAF readings.
brfatal is offline  
#13 Old 06-27-2013, 12:30 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
thekamikaze kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 533
thekamikaze kid is a helpful contributing member
arrrrg! i bought the car with it and dont have the stock air box. perrin insists that i didnt need a tune with the factory map, although everyone else disagrees. also it is a pita to clean. it gets dirty quick. would a dirty filter cause a lag in acceleration? im getting a delay when i push the accelerator when im in fourth. not sure if this is normal bc this is my first turbo car.
thekamikaze kid is offline  
#14 Old 06-27-2013, 01:15 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,355
Images: 9
brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to brfatal is a WRX expert worth listening to
Garage
They use foam filters which aren't the best idea for automotive use either. Great for dirt bikes because they hold more debris before clogging, but bad for cars since they let so much thru the filter, especially because it's so thin. If you hold the filter up to the light you'll see what I mean.

Foam


Oiled cotton gauze


Steel mesh


Dry mesh
brfatal is offline  
#15 Old 06-28-2013, 03:40 PM
WRXtuners Member
 
thekamikaze kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 533
thekamikaze kid is a helpful contributing member
bump....
what could be causing this acceleration issue? need to figure out b4 i mod the car. !Cry!
thekamikaze kid is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On